News & Media

Joe Gibbs Racing

February 04, 2016,

Joe Gibbs Racing
Joe Gibbs Racing history, full crews of Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Carl Edwards and Kyle Busch

Manufacturer: Toyota
Engine manufacturer: TRD
Debut season: 1992
Owner standings

Joe Gibbs Racing was launched in 1991 by former NFL head coach Joe Gibbs. As Gibbs looked to move from coaching to a new chapter in his career, his friend Don Meredith was looking for opportunities to race in NASCAR, and the team was born with its first season of premier series competition coming in 1992.

In 1993, driver Dale Jarrett won the Daytona 500 for JGR's first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory. Bobby Labonte took to the drivers seat, replacing Jarrett, in 1995. Since then, the team has claimed three championships in the series: in 2000 with Bobby Labonte and '02 and '05 with Tony Stewart, who became the team's second driver in 1999.

The team expanded to a third full-time car in 2006 with J.J. Yeley behind the wheel. 2012 brought Joe Gibbs Racing its 100th Cup win, when Denny Hamlin took the checkered flag at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. In 2015, JGR expanded to a fourth full-time car with Carl Edwards behind the wheel of the No. 19 Toyota.

JGR is based in Huntersville, NC, with over 450 employees in a facility of 250,000 square feet. Visit the team's web site here.

Follow Joe Gibbs Racing on Facebook and Twitter.

Driver: Denny Hamlin
Car Number: #11
Hometown: Chesterfield, VA
Series: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Rookie Year: 2006

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Mike Wheeler | Hometown: Southold, NY
Car Chief: Leo Thorsen | Hometown: Stoughton, WI
Spotter: Chris Lambert | Hometown: Kannapolis, NC

Over-the-wall crew:
Gasman: Caleb Hurd | Hometown: Pulaski, VA
Front Tire Changer: Dustin Necaise | Hometown: Gulfport, MS
Front Tire Carrier: Brandon Pegram | Hometown: Statesville, NC
Jackman: Nate Bolling | Hometown: Swanton, OH
Rear Tire Changer: Mike Hicks | Hometown: Salisbury, NC
Rear Tire Carrier: Heath Cherry | Hometown: Belmont, NC
Pit Crew Coordinator: Paul Alepa | Hometown: Vienna, VA
JGR Athletic Director: Mike Lepp | Hometown: Charlotte, NC

Road crew members:
Truck Drivers: Frank Hodel | Hometown: High Bridge, NJ, David Ott | Hometown: St. Mary's, PA
Tire Specialist: Kerry Ferris | Hometown: Perry, NY
Shock Specialist: Drew Bible | Hometown: Coldwater, MI
Engineer: Matt Beckman | Hometown: Glenview, IL
Engineer: Sam McAuley | Hometown: Huntersville, NC
Mechanic: Troy Welty | Hometown: Manchester, PA
Mechanic: John Furino | Hometown: East Meadow, NY
Interior Mechanic: Sean Kerlin | Hometown: Marysville, PA

Driver: Kyle Busch
Car Number: #18
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
Series: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Rookie Year: 2005

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Adam Stevens | Hometown: Portsmouth, OH
Car Chief: Nate Bellows | Hometown: Fairfax, VT
Engine Specialist: Mike Johnson | Hometown: Bozeman, MT
Spotter: Tony Hirschman | Hometown: Northhampton, PA

Over-the-wall crew:
Gasman: Tom Lampe | Hometown: Beatrice, NE
Pit Support: Marcus Bonicelli | Hometown: Colorado Springs, CO
Pit Support: Jeff Koons | Hometown: Greenfield, IN
Front Tire Changer: Josh Leslie | Hometown: Mount Clemens, MI
Front Tire Carrier: Brad Donaghy | Hometown: Orange County, VA
Jackman: T.J. Ford | Hometown: Charlotte, NC
Rear Tire Changer: Jake Seminara | Hometown: Steubenville, OH
Rear Tire Carrier: Kenny Barber | Hometown: Hoosick Falls, NY

Road crew members:
Truck Drivers: Brendan “Slim” Greene | Hometown: Midland, NC, Jamie “Montana” Price | Hometown: Choteau, MT
Tire Specialist: Gregory Katzke | Hometown: Wausau, WI
Shock Specialist: Chris Chase | Hometown: Nichols, NY
Engineer: Ben Beshore | Hometown: York, PA
Engineer: Gene Watchtel | Hometown: Clearwater, FL
Front End Mechanic: Brandon Griffeth | Hometown: Pittsfield, IL
Rear End Mechanic: Chris Jones | Hometown: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Mechanic: Todd Foster | Hometown: Birmingham, AL
Interior Mechanic: Wesley Lape | Hometown: Sinking Spring, PA

Carl Edwards

Hometown: Columbia, Mo.

Primary team members:
Crew chief: Dave Rogers
Car chief: Wesley Sherrill
Engineer: Matt Beckman
Engineer: Josh Noll
Spotter: Jason Hedlesky

Over-the-wall crew:
Jackman: Trey Burklin
Gasman: Kenneth Purcell
Front tire changer: Clay Robinson
Front tire carrier: Kevin Harris
Rear tire changer: Kip Wolfmeier
Rear tire carrier: Matt Ver Meer

Road crew members:
Shock specialist: Scott Myers
Mechanics: John Furino, Troy Welty and Sean Kerlin
Engine tuner: Steve Ritchie
Shock specialist: Drew Bible
Pit support: Anwar Parrish, Ben Surface
Truck drivers: Jerry Hess, Frank Hodel

Matt Kenseth

Cambridge, Wis.

Primary team members:
Crew chief: Jason Ratcliff
Car chief: Jeff Meendering
Engineer: Levi Porter
Engineer: Mike Lorusso
Spotter: Chris Osborne

Over-the-wall crew:
Jackman: Jason Tate
Gasman: John Eicher
Front Tire Changer: John Royer
Front Tire Carrier: Joe Crossen
Rear Tire Changer: Chris Taylor
Rear Tire Carrier: Richard Coleman

Road crew members:
Truck Driver: Dennis Valverde
Truck Driver: Tom McCrimmon
Mechanic: Alan Buzze
Mechanic: Matt Sauer
Engine tuner-TRD: Greg Wilson
Shock specialist: Scott Myers
Tire specialist: Jerold Shires
Pit support: Billy Byrne
Pit support gas: Jon Williams