Lap By Lap Comments


Chase Grid

Unofficial Round of 6: Byron, Bell, Peters, Kennedy, Sauter, Crafton. Cut: Hemric, Nemechek.

3:31 p.m. ET

Unofficial results: Enfinger, Gallagher, Peters, Abreu, Kennedy, Bell, Sauter, Truex, Tifft, Byron.

3:29 p.m. ET

Checkered Flag: Grant Enfinger wins the Camping World Truck Series Chase race at Talladega. It's his first career win.

Lap 94

White Flag: Trucks fan out, Hayley into the wall but no caution.

Lap 93

Enfinger commands the lead as trucks jostle behind him.

Lap 92

Green Flag: Here we go -- Enfinger, Gallagher lead us out. Two to go.

Lap 89

We're in for quite an end to this wild Camping World Truck Series Chase race, folks.

Lap 88

Crafton going to the garage.

Lap 87

Caution Flag: Matt Crafton blowing up.

Lap 86

Green Flag: Enfinger, Peters lead us back out in what could be the final restart.

Lap 85

Hemric is 26 points below the cutoff. Will need some serious help to avoid elimination.

Lap 84

Hemric didn't hit anything, but it's still a tough break for the Chase hopeful.

Lap 82

Caution Flag: Hemric spins.

Lap 81

Most Chasers have recovered. Nemechek is out, but Hemric is 16th and on the lead lap.

Lap 79

Peters in a really good spot in second place, behind Enfinger (a non-Chaser.)

Lap 78

Outside line now down to just six trucks. Many jumping down to the bottom.

Lap 77

Single-file line now eight trucks deep. Outside line trailing off a bit.

Lap 76

Enfinger closing in on 30 laps led for the day. Now at 28.

Lap 73

There are only 22 trucks that remain on the track after the wrecks.

Lap 72

Hemric, Nemechek would be the two drivers eliminated from the Chase if this holds.

Lap 71

Three trucks lead the single-file line on the bottom lane.

Lap 70

Peters out in front of Tifft for second.

Lap 69

Peters has a little wiggle after contact from Gallagher in the second row.

Lap 68

Green Flag: Enfinger, Tifft our leaders at the restart.

Lap 64

In the meantime, here are the laps led leaders: Enfinger (20), Reddick (16), Peters (14).

Lap 63

Crews still working to clean up track after big wreck.

Lap 61

That was a major wreck. Hemric took big damage, likely ending his Chase hopes as well.

Lap 60

Caution Flag: Rhodes gets into the wall, collects several trucks. The Big One hits.

Lap 59

And now Enfinger back out front after getting around on the outside. Great battle for the lead.

Lap 58

Tifft now out front. Enfinger, Kennedy follow.

Lap 56

Green Flag: Kennedy, Gallagher lead 'em back out. Good restart for Kennedy.

Lap 55

Peters had minor contact with another truck on pit road. No major damage.

Lap 52

Cody Ware, Brandon Hightower also involved.

Lap 51

Caution Flag: Lupton spins, takes a hard hit, then collects a few more trucks. Video Hightlights

Lap 50

Byron now back up to third. Enfinger leading the outside line.

Lap 49

Kennedy takes the lead over Peters. Enfinger to third.

Lap 48

Green Flag: Peters and Byron lead the field back out.

Lap 46

There are four Chase drivers 25th or worse after this caution. (Sauter, Bell, Hemric, Nemechek).

Lap 45

Bell took major adjustments on pit road. Down to 28th.

Lap 44

Cole Custer took heavy damage during that mess. Hemric minor damage.

Lap 43

Caution Flag: A John Wes Townley spin causes a big mixup. Video Hightlights

Lap 41

Peters now owns the lead.

Lap 40

Spirited battle back and forth between Custer and Peters out front.

Lap 39

Green Flag: Custer on the inside, Peters on the outside as the race gets back underway.

Lap 38

Matt Tifft will have to serve a penalty for removing equipment.

Lap 38

Matt Tifft will have to serve a penalty for removing equipment.

Lap 37

Race off pit road: 00, 17, 81 33, 11, 05, 21, 24, 19, 9. No. 81 up 10 spots.

Lap 36

Caution Flag: Coughlin stalls, bringing out the yellow.

Lap 35

Cody Coughlin has an issue. Says he thinks he's out of gas. Coming to pit road.

Lap 34

New leader: Timothy Peters. Knows how to get around this place.

Lap 33

A few trucks have started a third lane up top, but it quickly fell back.

Lap 32

The top lane has caught up, now dead even with the leaders on the bottom led by Peters.

Lap 31

Another round of pit stops may be coming soon if this remains green.

Lap 30

Reddick has now tied Enfinger for most laps led in this race. Sixty-four to go.

Lap 29

Not much shuffling out front. Drivers starting to settle in. The calm before the storm, possibly.

Lap 26

Reddick quickly closing in on Enfinger's laps led count of 15.

Lap 24

Vegas winner Reddick still out front, doesn't look like he'll be slipping.

Lap 23

Starting to fan out a bit, mid-pack. Not quite double-file anymore.

Lap 22

Four trucks lead the single-file line as the top lane struggles to catch up.

Lap 21

Custer is behind the Brad Keselowski Racing trucks, waiting to move up to reclaim his lead.

Lap 20

Reddick and now Hemric working together out front. Hemric could certainly use the win.

Lap 19

Green Flag: Reddick, Cindric lead the field back out.

Lap 18

Matt Crafton initially stayed out, but just went down pit road for adjustments.

Lap 17

Tyler Reddick led two laps during the caution, the first any driver other than Enfinger has today.

Lap 16

Trucks coming to pit road.

Lap 15

Nemechek brings his No. 8 truck to the garage. "I don't know. It blew up," he radioes his team. This likely ends his Chase chances.

Lap 14

Caution Flag: John Hunter Nemechek blowing up. Video Hightlights

Lap 13

Five trucks making up the single-file line out front.

Lap 11

Byron shuffled back to fifth. Custer now back up to fourth.

Lap 9

Enfinger continues to lead, as he has since the first lap.

Lap 8

Ben Kennedy, now in third, is working with Peters to work on getting their trucks single-file behind Enfinger.

Lap 7

Peters gets back out ahead of Byron.

Lap 6

Byron gets a run after a push from Korbin Forrester and noses ahead of Peters.

Lap 5

Peters jumps out to the sole second-place spot as he bounces back and forth between lanes.

Lap 4

Now William Byron, who has already advanced to the next Chase round, is battling with Peters for second.

Lap 3

Talladega ace Timothy Peters up to second.

Lap 2

Enfinger holds the lead through the second lap as pole-winner Cole Custer gets shuffled back to seventh.

Lap 1

Field lines up two-wide throughout but there's some jostling up front as Grant Enfinger takes the lead.

1:22 p.m. ET

Green Flag: The Camping World Truck Series Chase race at Talladega Superspeedway is underway.

1:10 p.m. ET

Today's grand marshal, Teresa Gabor, Sr. V.P. Merchandising, Fred’s, gives command for drivers to start their engines.

1:04 p.m. ET

Today's National Anthem is sung by Alabama's "Sweet Tea Trio," and is signed by Kristen Lathem, Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind.

1:03 p.m. ET

Today's colors are presented by the Alabama National Guard, with the invocation by Reverend Bobby Freeman, Alabama Raceway Ministry.

12:30 p.m. ET

Good afternoon, race fans! Thanks for joining's lap-by-lap coverage of the Camping World Truck Series Chase race at Talladega Superspeedway. Stay tuned for updates.