News & Media

Michael Waltrip Racing

February 01, 2015,

Michael Waltrip Racing
Michael Waltrip Racing's history and full crews for the Nos. 15 and 55 teams

Manufacturer: Toyota
Engine builder: TRD
Debut season: 2002
Owner standings

Two-time Daytona 500-winner Michael Waltrip ventured into running cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in 2002. It wasn't until 2007, the same year Rob Kauffman joined Michael Waltrip Racing as a co-owner, that the flagship team for Toyota Racing Development fielded a full-time Cup entry. Drivers Dale Jarrett and Waltrip led behind the wheel, with Waltrip bringing home the team's first pole that season. Their first win came at Charlotte Motor Speedway in 2009 as David Reutimann rolled into Victory Lane.

In 2012, Clint Bowyer and Martin Truex Jr. earned the team's first berths in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. Clint Bowyer would return as a Chase competitor the following year, but MWR experienced some hardships in 2014.

Bowyer did not qualify for the postseason and finished 19th in the final standings. Vickers, meanwhile, ran a full season but has already announced he will miss the first two races of 2015 after heart surgery in the offseason. After returning for two races, Vickers had a recurrence of blood clots that sidelined him indefinitely. Brett Moffitt and Michael Waltrip filled in for a few weeks before David Ragan was tapped to drive the No. 55 car for the rest of the 2015 season.

Michael Waltrip Racing is based out of Cornelius, North Carolina. Visit the team's website here.

Follow Michael Waltrip Racing on Facebook and Twitter.

Clint Bowyer

Emporia, Kan.

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Billy Scott
Car Chief: Billy Curwood
Engine Engineer: Tim Bruce
Race Engineer: Brandon Pope
Second Engineer: Joe Bisson
Spotter: Brett Griffin

Over-the-wall crew:
Jackman: Brian Chase
Gasman: Evan Marchal
Front tire changer: Terry Spalding
Front tire carrier: Allen Steele
Rear tire changer: Lee Cunningham
Rear tire carrier: PJ Briody

Road crew members:
Interior Mechanic: Chris Sherwood
Shock Specialist: Adam Cooke
Front Mechanic: J.D. Frey
Rear Mechanic: Travis Stock
Tire Specialist: Andrew Beason
Engine Tuner: Joe Bullard
Truck Driver: Ray Erwin
2nd Truck Driver: Jeff Shano

David Ragan

Unadilla, GA

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Brian Pattie
Car Chief: Steve Channing
Engine Engineer: Chris Valverde
Race Engineer: Dax Gerringer
Second Engineer: Tim O'Brien
Spotter: Roman Pemberton

Over-the-wall crew members:
Jackman: Wes Evans
Gasman: Jeff Kerr
Front tire changer: Ryan Langley
Front tire carrier: Chris Hall
Rear tire changer: Shannon Myers
Rear tire carrier: Blake Haugland

Road crew members:
Interior Mechanic: David Cropps
Shock Specialist: Jeremy Sharpley
Front Mechanic: Kevin White
Rear Mechanic: Joe Zanolini
Tire Specialist: Scott Swift
Engine Tuner: Denny Chandler
Truck Driver: Stump Lewis
2nd Truck Driver: Al Nelson