News & Media

Stewart-Haas Racing

February 01, 2016,

Stewart-Haas Racing
Team history and full crews of Kevin Harvick, Danica Patrick, Tony Stewart and Kurt Busch

Manufacturer: Chevrolet
Engine builder: Hendrick Motorsports

Debut season:
Owner standings

Stewart-Haas Racing is co-owned by three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart and Gene Haas, founder of Haas Automation, the California-based manufacturer of machine tools.

The organization debuted in 2009, led by driver/owner Stewart, who won four races along with the non-points NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race. Both Stewart and teammate Ryan Newman (now with Richard Childress Racing) made the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup in 2009. Stewart delivered the company's first NASCAR Sprint Cup title in 2011, winning a record five races in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup and becoming the first driver/owner to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup title since Alan Kulwicki in 1992. Kevin Harvick won the championship in 2014 during his first season with Stewart-Haas Racing.

SHR expanded to three full-time teams with driver Danica Patrick in 2013, expanding once again to four full-time teams in 2014, with Harvick and Kurt Busch joining existing SHR drivers Stewart and Patrick. The team fields four entries in the elite Sprint Cup Series: the No. 14 Bass Pro Shops/Mobil 1 Chevrolet for Stewart, the No. 10 GoDaddy Chevrolet for Danica Patrick, the No. 4 Budweiser/Jimmy John’s Chevrolet for Kevin Harvick and the No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet for Kurt Busch.

Based in Kannapolis, N.C., Stewart-Haas Racing operates out of a 140,000-square-foot facility with approximately 250 employees. Visit the team's web site here.

Follow Stewart-Haas Racing on Facebook and Twitter.

Kevin Harvick

Bakersfield, Calif.

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Rodney Childers | Hometown: Mooresville, North Carolina
Car Chief: Robert Smith | Hometown: Whitewater, Wisconsin
Engine Specialist: Jereme Jackson | Hometown: Lincolnton, North Carolin
Spotter: Tim Fedewa | Hometown: Holt, Michigan

Over-the-wall crew members:
Gas Man: Anthony Cardamone | Hometown: Bristol, Virginia
Second Gas Man: Jimmy Watts | Hometown: Charlotte, North Carolina
Windshield: Aaron Kuehn | Hometown: Kensington, Connecticut
Front Tire Changer: Ira Jo Hussey | Hometown: Manchester, New Hampshire
Front Tire Carrier: Todd Drakulich | Hometown: Tucson, Arizona
Jackman: Mike Castro | Hometown: Proctor, West Virginia
Rear Tire Changer: Daniel Smith | Hometown: Concord, North Carolina
Rear Tire Carrier: Mike Morneau | Hometown: Oxford, Maine

Road crew members:
Truck Drivers: Rick Hodges and Stephen Mitchell | Hometowns: Raleigh, North Carolina, and Woodville, Ohio, respectively
Tire Specialist: Todd Chafee | Hometown: West Winfield, New York
Shock Specialist: Michael McCarville | Hometown: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Engineer: Billy Keubler | Hometown: Saline, Michigan
Mechanics: Anthony Cardamone and Allen Mincey | Hometown: Bristol, Virginia, and Fort Lauderdale, Florida, respectively
Fuel Runner: Jeffrey Kuhn | Hometown: Blasdell, New York

Danica Patrick

Hometown: Roscoe, Ill.

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Billy Scott | Hometown: Land O' Lakes, Florida
Car Chief: Pete White | Hometown: Hinsdale, Massachusetts
Engine Tuner: Brian Franklin | Hometown: Rocky Mount, Virginia
Spotter: Brandon Benesch | Hometown: Cumberland, Wisconsin

Over-the-wall crew members:
Jackman: Tony Cardamone | Hometown: Bristol, Virginia
Gasman: Boone Stutz | Hometown: San Antonio, Texas
Front Tire Changer: Eric Maycroft | Hometown: Algonquin, Illinois
Front Tire Carrier: Jeff Shoaf | Hometown: Salisbury, North Carolina
Rear Tire Changer: Chris Winchell | Hometown: Atkinson, New Hampshire
Rear Tire Carrier: Matthew Holzbaur | Hometown: New Egypt, New Jersey
Windshield: Shane Church (also serves as interio mechanic) | Hometown: Charlotte, North Carolina

Road crew members:
Truck Drivers: Wayne Anderson and Kirk George | Hometowns: West Covina, California, and Ararat, Virginia, respectively
Tire Specialist: Nathan McGuire | Hometown: Palmyra, New York
Shock Specialist: Jimmy Rowlands | Hometown: Reading, Pennsylvania
Engineers: William Lee and Oliver Rivera | Hometowns: Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, and Houston, respectively
Mechanics: Nick McIntosh and Joey Elliott | Hometowns: Harve, Montana, and Northwood, New Hampshire, respectively

Driver: Tony Stewart
Car Number: #14
Hometown: Columbus, IN
Series: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Rookie Year: 1999

Primary team members:
Co-Owner: Gene Haas | Hometown: Oxnard, CA
Director of Competition: Greg Zipadelli | Hometown: Berlin, CT
Crew Chief: Michael Bugarewicz | Hometown: Lehighton, PA
Car Chief: Jerry Cook | Hometown: Toldeo, OH
Engine Specialist: David McClure | Hometown: Sacramento, CA
Spotter: Bob Jeffrey | Hometown: Bristol, TN

Over-the-wall crew members:
Gasman: James "Ace" Keener | Hometown: Fortuna, CA
Windshield: Justin Peiffer | Hometown: Lebanon, PA
Pit Crew Coaches: Walt Smith | Hometown: Davidson, NC, Kevin Sharpe | Hometown: Statesville, NC
Front Tire Changer: Bryan Jacobsen | Hometown: Honesdale, PA
Front Tire Carrier: Brett Morrell | Hometown: Windham, ME
Rear Tire Changer: Chris McMullen | Hometown: Canton, MI
Rear Tire Carrier: Josh Sobecki | Hometown: New Kensington, PA
Jackman: Getty Cavitt | Hometown: Owensboro, KY

Road crew members:
Truck Drivers: Ken "Goldberg" Gober | Hometown: Derry, NH, William (Stump) Lewis | Hometown: Linkwood, MD
Tire Specialist: Russell Simpson | Hometown: Medford, NY
Shock Specialist: Dave Hansen | Hometown: York, ME
Race Engineer: Lee Deese | Hometown: Rockingham, NC
Underneath Mechanic: Tony Silvestri | Hometown: Sylvania, OH
Pit Support: Andrew Migliozzi | Hometown: Westborough, MA, Jeff "Gooch" Patterson | Hometown: Escondido, CA, Mack Covington | Hometown: Williamsburg, VA, Daniel Coffey | Hometown: Granite Falls, NC, Keifer Phillips | Hometown: Rochester, NY

Kurt Busch

Hometown: Las Vegas, Nevada

Primary team members:

Crew Chief: Tony Gibson | Hometown: Daytona Beach, Florida
Car Chief: Kevin Pennell | Hometown: Kannapolis, North Carolina
Engine Specialist: Stephen Raynor | Hometown: Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Spotter: Rick Carelli | Hometown: Denver

Over-the-wall crew members:
Gasman: Rick Pigeon | Hometown: Fairfax, Vermont
Second Gasman: Justin Wilson | Hometown: St. Paul, Minnesota
Front Tire Changer: Shane Pipala | Hometown: Frankfort Square, Illinois
Front Tire Carrier: John Bernal | Hometown: Holland, Michigan
Windshield (also serves as Interior Mechanic): Jay Guarneri | Hometown: Naples, Florida
Rear Tire Changer: Coleman Dollarhide| Hometown: Hickory, North Carolina
Jackman: Sean Cotten | Hometown: Mooresville, North Carolina
Rear Tire Carrier: Dwayne Moore | Hometown: Griffith, Georgia

Road crew members:
Truck Drivers: Todd Cable and Rocky Boggs | Hometowns: Shelby, North Carolina, and Burlington, North Carolina, respectively
Tire Specialist: Jeff Zarrella | Hometown: Southington, Connecticut
Shock Specialist: Brian Holshouser | Hometown: Charlotte, N.C.
Engineers: Johnny Klausmeier and Mike Cook | Hometowns: Perry Hall, Maryland and Annapolis, Maryland, respectively
Mechanics: Shawn Warren and Andy Spenner | Hometowns: Concord, North Carolina and Hoyleton, Illinois, respectively