News & Media

By the Numbers: New Hampshire

July 10, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Camping World RV Sales 301

Related: Full coverage from New Hampshire, Iowa

Track: New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, N.H., 1.058 miles, asphalt and granite surface, progressive banking (2-7 degrees) in all four turns, 1-degree banking on straightaways.

Time/TV: Camping World RV Sales 301, 1 p.m. ET, Sunday, July 14. TV: TNT (coverage starts at noon ET), Radio: PRN

Trailblazers: NASCAR Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at New Hampshire, on July 11, 1993. It was the 26th win of Wallace’s career, and the only time he’d ever win at the track. Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek have competed in every Sprint Cup Series race at the speedway. All four drivers are entered in this year’s event. Gordon leads the series in top-five finishes at the track with 16, and in top-10 finishes with 21.

0.068 seconds is the margin of victory in the July 1, 2007, race won by Denny Hamlin over Jeff Gordon, the closest at New Hampshire since the advent of electronic scoring.

3 consecutive July wins at the speedway has only happened once; Jeff Burton accomplished the feat from 1997-99. Kasey Kahne won last year’s summer race.

4 of the 36 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway have been shortened due to weather conditions; the most recent was June 28, 2009 – the race was called on Lap 273, 28 circuits shy of the 301 scheduled laps.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

7.929 is Denny Hamlin’s average finishing position at the track, the best in the series. To have any chance of making the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, Hamlin almost certainly needs to win Sunday.

8 of the 36 (22.2%) Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire have been won from the front row: eight from the pole and seven from second-place.

14 is not only the number of Tony Stewart’s Chevrolet, it’s the number of top-five finishes he has at the track. That’s the most among drivers currently in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup field.

18 drivers have won at least one Coors Light Pole at New Hampshire, led by Ryan Newman with six.

19 years, 1 month and 4 days was Joey Logano’s age when he won the June 28, 2009, race at Loudon, making him the youngest winner at the track. The rain-shortened victory was also the first of the driver’s Cup career.

21 different drivers have won at Loudon, led by Jeff Burton with four.

36 total Sprint Cup Series races have been held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year since. The fall event at New Hampshire is one of 10 races in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

38 was the position in which Jeff Burton won the 1999 race, the deepest in the field that a race winner has started.

50 years, 8 months, 11 days was the age of Mark Martin when he won the fall race in 2009, making him the oldest winner at New Hampshire.

111.7 is the Driver Rating for Tony Stewart at New Hampshire, a track best. Driver Ratings were compiled from 2005-2012 races (16 total) among active drivers at New Hampshire.

126.871 mph is the speed at which Mark Martin won the inaugural Coors Light Pole in 1993.

135.232 mph is the track qualifying record, set by Ryan Newman in July of 2011.

146 drivers have competed in at least one Sprint Cup race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; 120 in more than one.

1,316 is the number of laps led by Jeff Gordon, the best in the series. Gordon has accrued those numbers over 36 starts.


WATCH: Race RePlay:
Daytona highlights

READ: Standings Shuffle
after Daytona

WATCH: Victory Lane
1-on-1 with Johnson

RECAP: Complete
Daytona coverage

Fan Forums: Chat here with fellow NASCAR fans