News & Media

Kyle Busch wins Indy Nationwide pole

July 27, 2013, Staff report,

Driver of No. 54 sets track record in winning fifth Coors Light Pole of season

Related: Results | Lineup | Pit stall assignments

SPEEDWAY, Ind. -- Kyle Busch, a seven-time winner this season in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, won the pole position for Saturday’s Indiana 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
Busch, driving the No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, turned a series-record lap of 179.644 mph to claim his fifth Coors Light Pole Award of the season and a series record 31st of his career. He enters the race with 58 career wins, the most in the series all time.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

Series points leader Sam Hornish Jr., a former Indianapolis 500 winner, qualified second at 178.969 mph in the No. 12 Penske Racing Ford. He’ll share the front row with Busch at the start of the 100-lap, 250-mile race.
Trevor Bayne, Elliott Sadler and Parker Kligerman completed the top five in qualifying. Hornish, Sadler, Brian Vickers (starting sixth) and Austin Dillon (seventh) are eligible for a $100,000 bonus in Saturday’s race, the last of four events in the Nationwide Insurance Dash 4 Cash incentive program.
Three drivers crashed during their qualifying runs without completing a lap. Alex Bowman, Joey Gase and Travis Pastrana each slapped the wall. Gase joined Matt DiBenedetto, Carl Long and Morgan Shepherd as drivers who failed to qualify for the 40-car field.
Saturday's race, the 19th of 33 Nationwide events this season, is scheduled for a 4:30 p.m. ET start with television coverage on ESPN starting at 4.


Talk about this story with fans below and start a topic of your own in our fan forum.