News & Media

Elliott becomes youngest Truck pole winner

August 21, 2013, Zack Albert,

At 17 years old, Elliott becomes the youngest pole winner in the history of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Related: Truck Series Qualifying Results

BRISTOL, Tenn. -- NASCAR Next member Chase Elliott became the youngest Camping World Truck Series Pole Award winner in the history of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, soaring to the top of the qualifying chart Wednesday afternoon at Bristol Motor Speedway.
Elliott, driving the No. 94 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet, will start first in the UNOH 200 (8 p.m. ET, FOX Sports 1) after a qualifying lap of 125.183 mph on the .533-mile concrete track. He set the youth record at the bright-eyed age of 17 years, 8 months and 24 days.
“It sounds awesome,” said Elliott, the son of former NASCAR champion Bill Elliott. “I hope we can finish there.”


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

Ryan Blaney, just 19, qualified second in the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Motorsports Ford at 125.028 mph. Ty Dillon qualified third in the No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevy with Red Horse Racing teammates Timothy Peters and German Quiroga Jr. completing the top five.
Series points leader Matt Crafton qualified sixth. Two full-time NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers will start in the top 10 -- Brad Keselowski qualified seventh with Kyle Busch, a three-time Bristol trucks winner, 10th.
Ben Kennedy, great-grandson of NASCAR founder Bill France Sr., will start 19th in his Camping World Truck Series debut.
Jeb Burton, Joey Coulter and Brennan Newberry suffered incidents on their qualifying laps, all on consecutive attempts. Burton, second in the series standings, looped his No. 4 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet in turns 1 and 2, but managed to avoid contact with the wall. He wound up with the 18th starting spot.
Coulter, the next driver out in the No. 18 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota, made minor contact with the outside barrier in the same spot on the track. Newberry hit harder in Turn 2, making heavy contact with the left-front corner of his No. 24 NTS Motorsports Chevy.
After the consecutive incidents, NASCAR officials stopped the qualifying session for several minutes to blow off the track and check for moisture. Keselowski was among the drivers who walked the Turns 1 and 2 area to investigate.
No drivers failed to make the 36-truck field. Jennifer Jo Cobb and Mike Harmon withdrew from the event after troubles during practice and did not make qualifying attempts.


READ: Full coverage
from Michigan, Mid-Ohio

WATCH: Johnson out
early at Michigan

WATCH: Logano celebrates
Michigan win

WATCH: Dillon spins in
Stewart's No. 14