News & Media

NASCAR penalizes Michael Waltrip Racing

September 09, 2013, NASCAR Official News Release,

Point reductions and $300,000 fine are handed out


Pos. Driver Points Behind
1 Matt Kenseth 2015 --
2 Jimmie Johnson 2012 -3
3 Kyle Busch 2012 -3
4 Kevin Harvick 2006 -9
5 Carl Edwards 2006 -9
6 Joey Logano 2003 -12
7 Greg Biffle 2003 -12
8 Clint Bowyer 2000 -15
9 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2000 -15
10 Kurt Busch 2000 -15
11 Kasey Kahne 2000 -15
12 Ryan Newman 2000 -15
13 Jeff Gordon 2000 -15

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Sept. 9, 2013) -- NASCAR has issued penalties to Michael Waltrip Racing following the sanctioning body’s review of Saturday’s race at Richmond International Raceway.

MWR was found to have violated Section 12-4 (Actions detrimental to stock car racing). As a result, MWR’s three teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (No. 15, 55, 56) have been penalized with the loss of 50 championship driver and 50 championship owner points, respectively. These point penalties are assessed following the season’s 26th regular-season race and not after the seeding for the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. Therefore, the point total for the No. 56 car driven by Martin Truex Jr. is reduced to 691, putting him in 17th position and eliminating him from the second Wild Card berth for the Chase field. Ryan Newman, driver of the No. 39 car, now moves up into the Chase as the second Wild Card participant.

NASCAR has also fined the MWR organization $300,000 and indefinitely suspended Ty Norris, MWR Executive Vice President/General Manager and spotter for the No. 55 car, for violating Section 12-4. The three crew chiefs -- Brian Pattie (No. 15), Scott Miller (No. 55) and Chad Johnston (No. 56) -- have all been placed on NASCAR probation until Dec. 31.

“Based upon our review of Saturday night’s race at Richmond, it is our determination that the MWR organization attempted to manipulate the outcome of the race,” said Robin Pemberton, NASCAR vice president of competition. “As the sport’s sanctioning body, it is our responsibility to ensure there is a fair and level playing field for all of our competitors and this action today reflects our commitment to that.”


READ: Driver previews:
The Chase

READ: Fantasy preview:
The Chase

READ: Race breakdowns:
The Chase

READ: Top 10 Chase moments