News & Media

By the Numbers: Talladega

October 16, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Camping World RV Sales 500 at Talladega

Related: Latest news from Talladega

Track: Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Ala. is a 2.66-mile, paved surface with 33-degree banking in all four turns. 16.5-degree banking in the frontstretch and 2-degree banking in the backstretch. Frontstretch is 4,300 feet and backstretch is 4,000 feet.

Time/TV: The Camping World RV Sales 500 (188 laps), 2 p.m. ET, Sunday, Oct. 20. TV: ESPN (coverage starts at 1 p.m. ET), Radio: MRN

Trailblazers:  The track’s first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race was held on Sept. 14, 1969 and won by Richard Brickhouse.

0 times since the inception of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup has the winner at the Talladega Chase race gone on to win the championship. Talladega has been a part of the Chase since the playoff's inception in 2004.

0.002 seconds was the closest margin of victory since the advent of electronic scoring at Talladega, when Jimmie Johnson beat Clint Bowyer on April 17, 2011. That MOV is tied with the 2003 Darlington race as the closest finishes in Sprint Cup races using electronic scoring.

1 driver has made his series debut at Talladega. Jamie McMurray made his first Cup Series start on October 6, 2002.

2  times a race at Talladega has been shortened due to weather conditions.
2  times Clint Bowyer has won a Chase race at Talladega.
3 drivers have posted their first career Cup wins at Talladega: Brad Keselowski (April 26, 2009), Brian Vickers (October 8, 2006) and Ken Schrader (July 31, 1988).

3 female drivers have competed at Talladega: Janet Guthrie, Patty Moise and Danica Patrick.
4 consecutive victories are the most at Talladega. Dale Earnhardt Jr. pulled that off from fall 2001 to spring 2003.

6 is the number of times Jeff Gordon has won at Talladega. That is the most among active drivers.

6 is also the number of consecutive poles Bill Elliott won at Talladega from 1985 to 1987. For his career, Elliott won eight poles at Talladega, the most among all drivers.

6 is also the number of runner-up finishes for Buddy Baker and Tony Stewart at Talladega. The two share that mark.

7 times the winner of a Cup race at Talladega has started from outside the top 20.

7 is also the number of times that a Cup race at Talladega has ended in a green-white-checkered finish. The last time it happened was spring 2013.

7.9 is the average finish by the eventual series champion at Talladega. The last three Cup Series champions all finished seventh in the Chase race at Talladega.

8 drivers from Alabama have won at least one race in NASCAR's three national series.

9.800 is the average starting position at Talladega for Trevor Bayne. That leads all active drivers.


View all articles
 • View all videos
 • View all photos

10 is the number of victories Dale Earnhardt had at Talladega, which is the most among all drivers.

12.556 is the average finishing position at Talladega for Brad Keselowski, which is the best among active drivers.

13 times the winner of a Cup race at Talladega has won from the Coors Light Pole. The most recent time this happened was when Jeff Gordon accomplished this feat on April 29, 2007.

22 years, one months and 22 days was the age of Bobby Hillin Jr. when he became the youngest winner at Talladega on July 27, 1986.

26 is the worst finish by an eventual Cup Series champion at Talladega. Jimmie Johnson finished 26th in 2006 and was eighth in the standings following the race, before going on to win the first of his five straight series titles.

26 years, seven months and four days was the age of Jimmie Johnson when he became the youngest pole winner at Talladega on April 21, 2002.

36 is the deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Talladega. Jeff Gordon did this spring 2000.

36 is also the number of drivers that have won Coors Light poles at Talladega.
times Jeff Burton has made the start at Talladega without visting Victory Lane, the most among active drivers.

51 years, 3 months and 26 days is the age of the oldest race winner at Talladega, Harry Gant, who won at Talladega on May 6, 1991.

52 years, 9 months and 14 days was the age of Mark Martin when he became the oldest pole winner at Talladega on October 23, 2012.
starts are the most active starts made at Talladega, a mark held by Terry Labonte.

61 starts are the most all-time at Talladega, a mark held by Dave Marcis.

68 drivers in NASCAR national series history have recorded their home state as Alabama.
Sprint Cup Series races have been held at Talladega. One race was held in 1969 and two races have been held every year since 1970. The 88 races are tied with Michigan International Speedway for the ninth-most Cup Series point-paying races.

107 Cup races have been run at seven different tracks in Alabama.

199.466 mph was the speed with which Bobby Issac won the inaugural Coors Light Pole at Talladega.

212.809 mph was the speed with which Bill Elliott set the track record for qualifying on April 30, 1987.

431 drivers have competed in at least one Cup race at Talladega.

839 laps are the number of laps that Jeff Gordon has led at Talladega in his career. That is the most among active drivers.


READ: Keselowski fills
winless void at Charlotte

WATCH: Final Laps:
Keselowski outruns Kahne

WATCH: No. 2 car exits
pits with jack along for ride

WATCH: Post-race
reactions from Charlotte