News & Media

Sprint Unlimited field taking shape

November 04, 2013, Staff report,

Kevin Harvick won the 2013 edition of the race

RELATED: Full Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup coverage

The field for the 2014 edition of The Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway is taking shape with 20 Sprint Cup Series drivers earning starting positions for the race.

The season’s first event, The Sprint Unlimited, is scheduled for Saturday, Feb. 15. FOX Sports One will televise the 75-lap, non-points event that serves as the kick off to the stock car portion of Budweiser Speedweeks.

The field for The Sprint Unlimited consists of the pole winners for all the 2013 Sprint Cup season events as well as the past winners of the race (who have also attempted to qualify for at least one Cup race during the past season).

The 20 drivers that have qualified for the race include 10 of the 13 drivers in this year’s Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

The drivers who have qualified for the 2014 edition of The Sprint Unlimited by virtue of winning a Coors Light Pole Award are: Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, Marcos Ambrose, Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Mark Martin, Jamie McMurray, Danica Patrick and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

As past winners of the event, Terry Labonte, Ken Schrader and Tony Stewart have qualified for the race.


READ: Johnson ahead
of Kenseth after Texas

READ: Gordon's Chase hopes
fall with wreck

WATCH: Hendrick isn't
celebrating yet

WATCH: Drivers sound
off after Texas