News & Media

Hall of Fame Class of 2012

May 22, 2013,

Inducted, Jan. 20, 2012: Richie Evans, Dale Inman, Darrell Waltrip, Glen Wood, Cale Yarborough

The third class in the NASCAR Hall of Fame was inducted in late January, with a cast of characters that included some of the sport’s most prominent names.

The induction saw a legendary crew chief, two great champions of racing, a driver whose streak in NASCAR Modified is unparalled, and a founding member of one of NASCAR's historic racing teams.

Richie Evans

The recognized "king" of Modified racing, Evans captured nine NASCAR Modified titles in a 13-year span, including eight in a row from 1978-85. | Read full story | Watch video

Dale Inman

Behind every legendary driver, there is usually a legendary wrenchman. That was Dale Inman, without whom Richard Petty might never have been The King. | Read full story | Watch video

Darrell Waltrip

A three-time NASCAR premier series champion (1981-82, ’85), Waltrip won all three with legendary driver/owner Junior Johnson. Waltrip is tied with Bobby Allison for fourth all-time in series victories with 84. His 59 poles rank fifth all-time in NASCAR Sprint Cup history. | Read full story | Watch video

Glen Wood

Glen Wood laid the foundation for the famed Wood Brothers racing team as a driver in the NASCAR premier series. Competing on a semi-regular basis, mostly at tracks close to his southern Virginia home, Wood won four times -- all at Bowman-Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C. | Read full story | Watch video

Cale Yarborough

As competitive as the sport has always been, NASCAR has had very few dynasties. Cale Yarborough’s reign in the late 1970s, though, was one of them. | Read full story | Watch video

Comments are currently unavailable. We’re working on the development of a NASCAR fan forum – please stay tuned