Countdown To Daytona: 11

February 13, 2013, Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service,

The car number with the most victories in NASCAR Sprint Cup history. With five victories last season Denny Hamlin pushed the No. 11 (in his case a Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota) past the vaunted No. 43 that accounted for 192 of Richard Petty’s series-record 200 wins. The No. 11 has been to Victory Lane 202 times, the first win coming on Aug. 4, 1957 at Kitsap County Airport in Bremerton, Wash., with Parnelli Jones behind the wheel of a ’57 Ford. The No. 43 has 198 victories to its credit, none since April 18, 1999, when John Andretti triumphed in a Petty Enterprises Pontiac at Martinsville.