Countdown To Daytona: 4

February 20, 2013, Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service,

The number of Daytona 500 poles won by three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Cale Yarborough, who claimed 12 career poles at Daytona in all races. Yarborough twice parlayed his top starting spot in the 500 into a victory, winning the Great America race from the pole in both 1968 and, 16 years later, in 1984. Yarborough had a knack for the 2.5-mile superspeedway. In 57 appearances at the track, he won nine times and posted 27 top-10 finishes.