Countdown To Daytona: 7

February 17, 2013, Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service,

The record number of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship won by Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt Sr. Petty won a record seven Daytona 500s to go with his seven titles. Earnhardt, on the other hand, was frustrated in his attempts to win the Great American Race for 19 years before achieving his breakthrough victory in 1998. All told, Petty won 10 points races at Daytona to Earnhardt’s three.