Countdown to Daytona: 27

January 28, 2013, Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service,

There are 27 days left before the Feb. 24, 2013 Daytona 500; hence, today’s number is 27.

The number of consecutive years Hendrick Motorsports has posted at least one victory in the NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series, the longest current streak by a car owner. After a winless 1985 in his second year as a car owner, Rick Hendrick visited Victory Lane nine times in 1986, twice with Geoffrey Bodine and seven times with Tim Richmond. In the 27 years between 1986 and 2012 inclusive, Hendrick has won 206 Cup events with a multitude of drivers. Jeff Gordon has been most prolific for HMS with 87 victories, followed by Jimmie Johnson with 60.