News & Media

By the Numbers: Old guard for Trucks at Darlington

March 10, 2011, ,

Darlington Raceway is 1.366-mile oval with 25 degrees banking in Turns 1 and 2 and 23 degrees in Turns 3 and 4. Both the frontstretch and backstretch are 1,229 feet in length with 6 degrees banking.

This marks just the sixth Truck Series race at Darlington, which held events yearly from 2001-04 before returning to the schedule in '10.

CAMPING WORLD TRUCK SERIES | Too Tough to Tame 200 (5 p.m. ET Saturday)

4 -- Races won by drivers in their 40s: Bobby Hamilton (43) in 2001; Ted Musgrave (46) in 2002; Hamilton (45) in 2003; and Todd Bodine (46) in 2010.

5 -- Races won by the driver leading with 10 laps to go. The driver leading the most laps has won four times, including Todd Bodine last season, who shared race-high honors with Timothy Peters (47 laps).

11 -- Drivers who finished on the lead lap in last year's race, second fewest in track history (only once has more than 15 drivers finished on the lead lap at Darlington: 23 in 2004). Last year's race also had 16 DNFs (six for crashes), most in track history.

28.784 -- Qualifying time, in seconds, set last year by Timothy Peters, a track record. Peters maxed out at 170.845 mph. He finished second, the best result of a pole winner.

Very Interesting

0 -- Victories by Chevrolet and Ford. Dodge won the first four races; Toyota won last year.

DARLINGTON MISC. | Order race tickets

2 -- Career victories for Todd Bodine; he also won a Nationwide Series race in 2003.

2 -- Poles for Elliott Sadler, one in the Cup Series and one in Nationwide. Sadler will be making his first start at Darlington, in Kevin Harvick Inc.'s No. 2 Chevrolet.

3 -- Place of finish for Ron Hornaday in last year's race. One more top-10 will give him 193 for his career and move him past Jack Sprague for most in series history.

4 -- Drivers who have won in their first Truck Series start: Mike Skinner, Robert Pressley, Ryan Newman and Kasey Kahne, who won at Darlington in 2004. Kahne is entered in Kyle Busch Motorsports' No. 18 Toyota this week.

Very Interesting

6 -- Drivers who have made 250 series starts. Matt Crafton has made 249 consecutive starts since his debut in the last race of 2000. He is one of only two drivers (Dennis Setzer, who is not entered in this week's race) who have made all five starts at Darlington. Crafton is riding a streak of 18 consecutive top-10s (longest current; 24 is the record set by Jack Sprague). Crafton has three top-10s at Darlington, including two in a row.

Powered by Racing Recall