News & Media

Pit Crew Challenge staple of All-Star week

May 04, 2011, Official Release,

HARRISBURG, N.C. -- The 2011 NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge, the only indoor event sanctioned by NASCAR, is part of an Al-Star lineup of events including NASCAR Rev'd Up and the Sprint All-Star Race.

"The NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge presented by Craftsman has become a true fan favorite as it gives our fans the opportunity to see up close and personal some of the unsung heroes in our sport," said Robin Pemberton, vice president of competition for NASCAR. "The pit crews train extremely hard and compete at the highest levels. Their performance on pit road oftentimes is the difference between winning and finishing second on race weekends and it's great that they have this opportunity to showcase their many talents leading into the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race."

Teams are seeded for the 2011 Sprint Pit Crew Challenge based on the following:

* Seeding will be determined by the 2011 Sprint Cup Series owners' point standings (as of May 18, 2011).

* The top eight teams in Cup Series owners' points will receive a bye into the second round of the competition.

* The remaining eligible teams will be ranked in order of Cup Series owners' points as seeds No. 9-24 and will compete in a head-to-head format in the first round of the Sprint Pit Crew Challenge.

Competition Rounds

* Seeding Round: The seeding round will be held at 4:30 p.m. ET. Featuring the top eight teams in Cup Series owners' points, teams will compete in four head-to-head runs with the quickest time receiving the top, overall seed for the Sprint Pit Crew Challenge. The remaining seven teams in the seeding round will be seeded Nos. 2-8 in order of their times (quickest to slowest).

* Round 1: All teams seeded Nos. 9-24 compete in a head-to-head, single-elimination format with the eight winning teams advancing to the second round of competition.

Additionally, the fastest crew member at each station will be crowned as the individual champion in the following categories: front-tire changer and carrier; rear-tire changer and carrier; jack man and gas man; and second gas can man. Each of the winning individual crew members will receive a $10,000 prize. Teams competing in the seeding round and first round will have individual skills' times count toward the individual skills' titles.

* Round 2: The eight winning teams from Round 1 advance to challenge the teams seeded Nos. 1-8. Eight heat winners advance to Round 3.

* Round 3 Quarterfinals: The head-to-head competition continues with the same format as Round 2. Four heat winners advance to Round 4.

* Round 4 Semifinals: The winning teams from Round 3 compete head-to-head with the two winners advancing to the championship round.

* Round 5 Finals: The winning teams from Round 4 compete head-to-head with the winner crowned as the 2011 Sprint Pit Crew Challenge champion.

Note: In the event of a tie in any of the rounds, the car owner who is ranked higher in the current 2011 Cup Series owners' point standings as of May 18, 2011, will prevail.

The finishing order of the 2011 Sprint Pit Crew Challenge determines the order of pit selection for the race that each competing team is eligible for -- Sprint Showdown or Sprint All-Star Race.


All teams qualified for the 2011 Sprint All-Star Race, which includes Cup Series race winners from 2010 and '11, All-Star Race winners of the past 10 years and Cup Series champions of the past 10 years who are active drivers and have competed in at least one Cup event during the 2010 or '11 season. Also eligible is the 2010 Sprint Pit Crew Challenge winner. If there are no new event winners, the remaining unfilled positions will become available to the car owners ranked highest in the 2011 Cup Series owners' point standings as of May 18, 2011, who are not otherwise eligible for this event.

The following teams are currently eligible: No. 00 Toyota, No. 1 Chevrolet, No. 4 Toyota, No. 5 Chevrolet, No. 11 Toyota, No. 14 Chevrolet, No. 16 Ford, No. 17 Ford, No. 18 Toyota, No. 21 Ford, No. 22 Dodge, No. 24 Chevrolet, No. 29 Chevrolet, No. 33 Chevrolet, No. 39 Chevrolet, No. 42 Chevrolet, No. 48 Chevrolet and No. 99 Ford.

The event is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET May 19 at Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, N.C. Tickets start at $15 and can be purchased online at or by calling Time Warner Cable Arena box office at (800) 745-3000. SPEED's broadcast of the event begins at 8 p.m. ET.