News & Media

Logano makes lone lap led count in Daytona win

July 01, 2011, Sporting News Wire Service,

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- And the winner is ... Joey Logano!

As action in Friday night's Subway Jalapeno 250 unfolded off Turn 4 on the final lap, Joey Logano surged into the lead for the first time all night and won the Nationwide Series race at Daytona International Speedway.

The victory was Logano's first of the season and ninth of his career, and it came as the cars who led into the final turn -- including those of Danica Patrick, Aric Almirola, Tony Stewart and Elliott Sadler -- wrecked behind him.

Jason Leffler ran second followed by series points leader Reed Sorenson, who also claimed a $100,000 prize as the highest finisher among four drivers eligible for Nationwide's Dash 4 Cash program.

The lead-lap cars made their final pit stops under caution for Clint Bowyer's hard Lap 80 crash into the backstretch wall off the bumper of teammate/owner Kevin Harvick. Patrick and Almirola were dicing with Sadler and Stewart for the lead positions when the caution flew for the sixth time on Lap 90.

On a Lap 94 restart, Sadler led Stewart, Patrick and Almirola to the green flag.

Note: After a hard crash in Turn 1 on Lap 44, Eric McClure, driver of the No. 14 Chevrolet, was taken to the infield care center, then to a local hospital for further evaluation. McClure had walked away from the wreck.