News & Media

By the Numbers: Close to the finish, close in the standings

September 22, 2011, ,

New Hampshire Motor Speedway is a 1.058-mile oval with variable banking in the corners at 2 and 7 degrees. The frontstretch and backstretch are each 1,500 feet with 1 degree banking.

CAMPING WORLD TRUCK SERIES | F.W. Webb 175 (3 p.m. ET Saturday)

2 -- Drivers entered in this week's race who have won at New Hampshire: Ron Hornaday and Kyle Busch. Hornaday has the most wins (three), including the inaugural in 1996 and back-to-back years in 2007 and '08. Busch followed with his two wins in 2009 and '10.

4 -- Green-white-checkered finishes in the first seven races at New Hampshire. There hasn't been any in the eight races since.

5 -- Consecutive races at New Hampshire won from the front row, including two from the pole position. The past 11 races have been won from a top-five starting spot and only one of the 15 total have been won from outside the top 10.

5 -- Top-10s for both Matt Crafton and David Starr, most of any driver without a win at New Hampshire. Both also have two top-fives in their 10 starts, with Crafton having finished fourth the past two years. Starr finished third in 2002, but has only one top-10 (seventh in 2008) in the past four races (all for different teams).

Very Interesting

3 -- Places separating points leader James Buescher and second-place Austin Dillon in last year's race at New Hampshire. Buescher finished second, Dillon fifth. Buescher leads Dillon by three points in the standings.

Side note: Johnny Sauter, who trails by six points in the standings, has finished fifth and seventh in two starts at NHMS.

SPRINT CUP SERIES | Sylvania 300 (2 p.m. ET Sunday)

2 -- Current drivers with winless streaks of 70 or more races whose last victory came at New Hampshire: Joey Logano (82-race winless streak), won at NHMS in June 2009; Mark Martin (72), won at NHMS in September 2009.

2 -- Drivers who made their first career start and scored their first victory at New Hampshire: Joe Nemechek (first start in July 1993; first win in September 1999); Joey Logano (first start in September 2008; first win in June 2009).

Side note: The July 1993 race was the inaugural at New Hampshire.

5 -- Races at New Hampshire won from the pole; of that total, four have taken place in the fall race. In fact, six of the 14 races at NHMS in September have been won from the front row.

Side note: The only fall race at New Hampshire to be won from a starting spot worse than 14th happened in 2001, when Robby Gordon started 31st. That race was postponed to November after the terrorist attacks on 9/11.

7 -- Different winners in the past seven races at New Hampshire: Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Joey Logano, Mark Martin, Jimmie Johnson, Clint Bowyer and Ryan Newman

Very Interesting

47 -- Races Ryan Newman had gone without winning before his victory at New Hampshire in July. It represents the fourth-longest winless streak broken in 2011.

Side note: Newman scored his first career victory at NHMS, in September 2002.

NEW HAMPSHIRE WINNERS | Chase for the Sprint Cup

1 -- Drivers to win the Chase race at New Hamsphire who went on to win the title: Kurt Busch in 2004.

Side note: Only two Chase winners at NHMS left with the points lead: Kevin Harvick in 2006 (finished fourth overall); Mark Martin in 2009 (finished second).

3 -- Wins at New Hampshire for Jeff Gordon, all coming in his first eight starts. He has finished second five times since his last win there in August 1998. Gordon is the only Chase driver to have competed in all 33 races at NHMS.

4 -- Drivers in this year's Chase who have never won at New Hampshire: Dale Earnhardt Jr. (24 starts); Matt Kenseth (23); Carl Edwards (14); and Brad Keselowski (4).

7 -- Chase races at New Hampshire, each won by a Chase driver: Kurt Busch (2004); Ryan Newman (2005); Kevin Harvick (2006); Clint Bowyer (2007); Greg Biffle (2008); Mark Martin (2009); and Bowyer (2010).

Very Interesting

17 -- Races won at New Hampshire by drivers in this year's Chase, more than half of the 33 events held there. However, only three of the past eight races at NHMS have been won by drivers in this season's Chase: Kurt Busch (June 2008); Jimmie Johnson (June 2010); Ryan Newman (July 2011).

Side note: Busch, Johnson and Newman each have three wins at NHMS.

NEW HAMPSHIRE MISC. | Order tickets

2 -- Season sweeps at New Hampshire in the Cup Series, dating to 1997: Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2004). They are the only two drivers to win back-to-back races at NHMS, as well.

Side note: July race winner Ryan Newman's first two victories at NHMS took place in the fall race.

3 -- Combined Truck and Cup races at New Hampshire in 2010 in which the final lead change took place with two laps remaining. Jimmie Johnson passed Kurt Busch in the June 2010 Cup race; Kyle Busch passed James Buescher in the Truck race that year; and Clint Bowyer passed Tony Stewart in the September 2010 Cup race.

Side note: There has never been a last-lap pass at New Hampshire in Cup (it's happened with two laps to go four times); Ryan Newman led the final 72 laps earlier this year. There have been two last-lap passes in Truck (both in the first three races).

3 -- Place of finish in the past two Truck Series races at New Hampshire for Kevin Harvick, who has won there in Nationwide and Cup. He has won in all three series at five tracks.

8 -- Tracks at which Kyle Busch has won in all three national series, including New Hampshire. Busch, with two Truck wins and one in Cup, is the only driver to have won in all three series at NHMS (three in Nationwide).

Side note: Kurt Busch is the only other driver who has won in both Truck (1) and Cup (3) at NHMS. He is not entered in this week's Truck race.

Very Interesting

50 -- Age of the oldest race winners at New Hampshire in both Truck and Cup. Ron Hornaday was 50 years, 2 months, 24 days when he won the Truck race on Sept. 13, 2008; Mark Martin was 50 years, 8 months, 11 days when he won the Cup race on Sept. 20, 2009.


2 -- Hall of Fame drivers who competed at New Hampshire: Dale Earnhardt (Class of 2010) and Darrell Waltrip (Class of 2011).

8 -- Wins at New Hampshire for Hendrick Motorsports, most of any team. Owner Rick Hendrick is on the Hall of Fame nominees list.

Side note: Richard Childress is another HOF nominee; RCR has four wins at NHMS.

13 -- Place of finish for Darrell Waltrip in July 1998, his best finish in 11 starts at New Hampshire. Waltrip drove the No. 1 Chevrolet of Dale Earnhardt Inc. that day.

Side note: 1998 was DEI's third year of operation but the first in which it attempted a full season.

85 -- Career wins for Jeff Gordon, the only active driver in the top seven in victories (three at New Hampshire); the other six are in the Hall of Fame. Gordon is the all-time leader at NHMS in top-fives (14), top-10s (18), laps led (1,226) and lead-lap finishes (27 in 33 starts).

Very Interesting

12 -- Races at New Hampshire for Dale Earnhardt, his third-most at any track without a win. Earnhardt posted two runner-up finishes (1994 and '97) and six top-10s.

Powered by Racing Recall