News & Media

By the Numbers: Chasers like Kansas, but others do break through

October 06, 2011, ,

Kansas Speedway is a 1.5-mile D-shaped oval with 15 degrees banking in the turns. The frontstretch is 2,685 feet with 10.4 degrees banking; the backstretch is 2,207 feet with 5 degrees banking.

NATIONWIDE SERIES | Kansas Lottery 300 (3:30 p.m. ET Saturday)

2 -- Consecutive wins at Kansas for Joey Logano, the only driver with more than one victory in the series' 10-race history at the track. Logano is entered in this week's race in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 Toyota.

Side note: Logano won last year's race from the pole, the only driver to do so at Kansas.

5 -- Times in the past eight races at Kansas the final lead change took place with six laps to go or less, including the past two: Joey Logano passed Kyle Busch both times. In 2009, Logano led only the final four laps, the fewest of any race winner; Busch led 173 laps, the most of any non-winner.

Side note: There have been two last-lap passes for the win at Kansas: David Green beat Bobby Hamilton Jr. in 2003; Kasey Kahne beat Greg Biffle in 2005.

6 -- Place of finish in last year's race at Kansas for points leader Ricky Stenhouse, his only start at the track. Stenhouse started 18th and led five laps.

Side note: Second-place Elliott Sadler made one series start at Kansas, in 2005; he crashed out after five laps. In 10 Kansas starts in the Cup Series, Sadler had one top-five and three top-10s.

7 -- Times in the past eight races at Kansas the final green-flag stretch has been 13 laps or less. Four times during that span the final green run with three laps or less, but only one (2004) ended in a green-white-checkered finish.

Side note: The race in 2003 ended under caution.

Very Interesting

7 -- Times in the past eight races at Kansas the winner led 18 laps or less. Only once has the winner led more than 48 laps: Denny Hamlin led 99 laps in 2008 (the only time the driver leading the most laps won).

Side note: Hamlin started 19th in that race, tied with Joe Nemechek (2004) for the worst starting position of any winner at Kansas.

SPRINT CUP SERIES | Hollywood Casino 400 (2 p.m. ET Sunday)

1 -- Drivers who hold the mark at Kansas for oldest pole winner and oldest race winner: Mark Martin. He was 46 years, 9 months, in winning the race on Oct. 9, 2005; he was 50 years, 8 months, 23 days, in winning the pole on Oct. 2, 2009 (finished seventh).

Side note: Martin also hold the mark for most laps led by a Kansas winner: 139.

4 -- Times in the past six races at Kansas the winner did not lead until after halfway. June winner Brad Keselowski didn't take the lead until Lap 259, leading the final nine laps.

Side note: Kurt Busch led 152 laps in June, the most of any non-winner.

6 -- Years to the day of this year's race marking Denny Hamlin's series debut, on Oct. 9, 2005, at Kansas. Hamlin started seventh and finished 32nd, two laps down.

Side note: Hamlin has posted top-fives in two of the past three races at Kansas, including a track-best third-place finish in June (a race that marked his 200th career start).

57 -- Laps Brad Keselowski ran on one tank gas to finish the June race, the only driver to finish in the top 29 who pitted only five times. Keselowski was running seventh before final green-flag stops which started on Lap 241 for most of the leaders.

Side note: The June race had a final green-flag stretch of 102 laps, surpassing the 72 laps in 2010 as the longest in track history. Only one of the prior nine races had a final green stretch of more than 40 laps.

Very Interesting

1 -- Active tracks at which the Cup Series has competed more than once that has never had a green-white-checkered finish: Kansas.

Side note: There has never been a last-lap pass at Kansas, either.

KANSAS HISTORY | Chase for the Sprint Cup

3 -- Chase races at Kansas won by drivers not in that year's Chase: Joe Nemechek (2004); Tony Stewart (2006); Greg Biffle (2007).

Side note: Stewart (2009) and Biffle (2010) also won Chase races at Kansas as Chase participants.

5 -- Drivers in this year's Chase who have won at Kansas: Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart (two each); Ryan Newman, Jimmie Johnson and Brad Keselowski (one each).

Side note: Johnson (2008) and Stewart (2009) are the only drivers in this year's Chase who have won a previous Chase race at Kansas; Johnson is the only driver to win the Chase race at Kansas and the Cup title in the same year.

7 -- Chase drivers who finished worse than 20th in the 2007 race at Kansas, the most in any Chase race.

Side note: Five Chasers in that race finishes worst than 30th, tying Atlanta (2004) for that distinction.

9 -- Chase drivers who finished in the top 10 in the 2009 race at Kansas, the most top-10 finishes by Chase drivers in a Chase race.

Side note: Chase drivers have swept the top-seven finishing positions in each of the past three Chase races at Kansas.

Very Interesting

9 -- Drivers in this year's Chase who finished in the top nine in the June race at Kansas.

Pos.DriverStartLedPoints Pos.DriverStartLedPoints
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.28042 7.Jimmie Johnson31037
3.Denny Hamlin153442 8.Tony Stewart132037
4.Jeff Gordon22040 9.Kurt Busch115237
5.Carl Edwards72940 

Side note: Kevin Harvick (11th), Kyle Busch (12th) and Ryan Newman (15th) were the lowest-finishing of the Chase drivers.

KANSAS MISC. | Order tickets

1 -- Drivers who have swept a Nationwide/Cup weekend at Kansas: Joe Nemechek (2004); it represents his last wins to date in each series.

Side note: Nemechek is the only driver to win at Kansas in both series.

3 -- Chase drivers entered in the Nationwide race at Kansas: Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards and Kevin Harvick.

Side note: Harvick is the only one with a previous Nationwide win at Kansas (2006).

6 -- Statistical categories in which Greg Biffle either leads or shares at Kansas across the Nationwide and Cup series: In Nationwide, Biffle tops all drivers in top-fives (six), top-10s (eight) and lead-lap finishes (eight), and shares with two other drivers most starts (nine). In Cup, Biffle shares with two other drivers most wins (two) and is the track's lap-leader (323).

Side note: Biffle has finished on the lead lap in the past nine Cup races, the longest current streak. He is not entered in this week's Nationwide race.

7 -- Races at Kansas won from a top-10 starting position in both the Nationwide and Cup series. Five races have been won from a starting position in the first three rows in each series.

Side note: Brad Keselowski started 25th in the Cup race in June, the worst starting position of any NASCAR race at Kansas.

Very Interesting

2005 -- Year the track qualifying record at Kansas was established for both the Nationwide and Cup series: Martin Truex Jr. holds the Nationwide mark (178.938 mph); Matt Kenseth holds the Cup record (180.856 mph).

Side note: The Nationwide race record at Kansas was set in the 2001 inaugural (129.125 mph by Jeff Green); the Cup race record is more recent (138.077 mph by Greg Biffle in 2010).

Powered by Racing Recall