News & Media

Nationwide schedule released for 30th anniversary season

October 19, 2011, Official Release,

Inaugural Brickyard race, Montreal return, star power highlight milestone year

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- Highlighted by an inaugural visit to one of the most historic race tracks in motorsports, a return trip to Montreal and plenty of driver star power, NASCAR on Wednesday announced the 2012 schedule for the Nationwide Series.

Full-time rides for Danica Patrick and Austin Dillon plus the addition of action sports superstar Travis Pastrana, who plans to run the majority of the schedule, give the 2012 season a huge dose of anticipation.

* 2012 Nationwide Series Schedule

"From the season opener at Daytona International Speedway to the finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, the 2012 schedule has a great mix of tracks that will continue to deliver great racing for our fans," said Steve O'Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "We're excited to bring the NASCAR Nationwide Series to the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway, along with the addition of a second date at Kentucky Speedway."

Celebrating its 30th anniversary, the 2012 Nationwide Series season features 33 race dates, including the series' first visit to Indianapolis Motor Speedway as part of a companion weekend with the Sprint Cup Series and Grand-Am Road Racing. The inaugural Brickyard event will take place on July 28.

Montreal's Circuit Gilles Villeneuve -- a fan favorite that has evolved into a "crown jewel" for the series -- returns for a sixth consecutive season, on Aug. 18. The 14-turn layout is one of three road-course events on the calendar, joining Road America (June 23) and Watkins Glen International (Aug. 11).

Additional 2012 schedule highlights:

-- Daytona International Speedway again opens the season, on Feb. 25, a week later than past years.

-- Iowa Speedway hosts the series' first standalone event on May 20, with a second date on Aug. 4.

-- Homestead-Miami Speedway will once again host the season finale, on Nov. 17.

-- For the first time, Kentucky Speedway will have two Nationwide race dates, on June 29 and Sept. 22.

-- Chicagoland Speedway also returns with two dates, one a standalone affair on July 22.

-- Daytona's summer event and Kentucky's race will swap weekends in 2012, as the July 4th holiday falls mid-week next year. Daytona will run on July 6.

2012 Nationwide Series Schedule

DateTrack DateTrack DateTrack
3/3 Phoenix 6/16Michigan 9/1Atlanta
3/10Las Vegas 6/23Road America 9/7Richmond
3/17Bristol 6/29Kentucky 9/15Chicagoland
3/24Auto Club 7/6Daytona 9/22Kentucky
4/13Texas 7/14New Hampshire 9/29Dover
4/27Richmond 7/22Chicagoland 10/12Charlotte
5/5Talladega 7/28Indianapolis 10/20Kansas
5/11Darlington 8/4Iowa 11/3Texas
5/20Iowa 8/11Watkins Glen 11/10Phoenix
5/26Charlotte 8/18Montreal 11/17Homestead

-- In conjunction with the Sprint Cup Series' schedule shift, Kansas Speedway's date moves to Oct. 20 to accommodate the track's repave, scheduled for April 2012.