News & Media

Stewart, Yocum hand out 2011 Stewie Awards

December 02, 2011, Sponsor Release,

LAS VEGAS -- Winners of the fifth annual Stewie Awards were announced Thursday by 2011 Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart live on Sirius XM Radio and in front of a studio audience at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The Stewie Award winners were decided by fans who voted for the best, boldest and funniest moments of the NASCAR season. Listeners around the country tuned in to experience the event live on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90 on Sirius and XM Premier (formerly known as "The Best of Sirius").

The Stewies will be rebroadcast on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio several times in the coming weeks, including 3 p.m. ET Saturday and 6 p.m. ET Sunday.

Guests on last night's program included: NASCAR president Mike Helton, Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, auto racing legends A.J. Foyt and Leonard Wood, and celebrities Jerry Springer and Robin Leach.

The winners of the 2011 Stewie Awards are:

Best Original Drama -- For the year's most dramatic moment or sequence

-- Tony Stewart overcomes pit road issues, debris damage, a lengthy red flag and down-to-the-wire challenge from Carl Edwards to win the season finale Ford 400 at Homestead. Smoke has to climb his way to the front of the field twice and he and Edwards trade lead several times. The 1-2 finish leaves them tied in points but the tie-breaker, and championship, goes to Stewart. (Race Rewind)

Bonehead Move of the Year Award

-- J.J. Yeley pushes Matt Kenseth when the No. 17 runs out of gas at the Geico 400 at Chicagoland. Since it is illegal to receive assistance on final lap, Kenseth is dropped from eighth to 21st-place finish. (Watch video)

"Feels Like The First Time" Award -- For the most notable "first" of the NASCAR season

-- On the day after his 20th birthday, Trevor Bayne wins the Daytona 500 in his second Sprint Cup Series start. (Victory Lane)

Best Vocal Performance -- For the year's most memorable quote

-- Pastor Joe Nelms of Family Baptist Church in Lebanon, Tenn., channels his inner "Ricky Bobby" during the pre-race Invocation for the Federated Auto Parts 300 at Nashville. (Watch Video)

Best "Driver2Crew Chatter"

-- The No. 88 crew helps Dale Earnhardt Jr. mark his pit stall in the STP 400 at Kansas.

Best Original Comedy -- For the year's most entertaining "incident"

-- Thinking Greg Biffle was racing dirty in the Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen, Boris Said requests a "meeting" with "The Biff" after the race. In the ensuing encounter, Biffle takes a swing at Said and Said answers back with verbal TKO. (Watch video)

Hal Needham Award (Best Stunt Sequence) -- For the year's most remarkable crash

-- At the Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen, David Ragan hits wall at 100 mph. Ragan then hits David Reutimann who cartwheels into Turn 2 fence. Everyone emerges safely. (Watch video)

'Boys, Have At It" Award -- For the year's most memorable on- or off-track bumping and/or dumping

-- Nearing the checkered flag in the Good Sam Club 500 at Talladega, Jeff Gordon gets dumped by his tandem draft partner, Trevor Bayne, for another Ford driver. Gordon goes from being a contender to win to finishing 27th, 12 spots behind Bayne. (Watch video)

The Social Stewie Award -- For the year's best social media quote

-- Matt Kenseth via Twitter after his wife's "Better Half Dash" practice injury. @matt_kenseth17: "Katie is feeling pretty good today, and I got to learn something to put a bra ON!"

Stewie Lifetime Achievement Award

-- Chosen by Stewart and Yocum, this award was presented to Leonard Wood.

For more information on the 2011 Sprint Cup Series awards ceremony and NASCAR Champion's Week, click here. For photo images from Champion's Week, including from the Stewie Awards, click below.