News & Media

By the Numbers: Excitement from start to finish in Truck Series

December 18, 2011, ,

A comprehensive look at the numbers that comprised the 2011 season in the Camping World Truck Series:

1 -- Last-lap passes for the win: Michael Waltrip, whose spoiler fell off his truck with two laps to go, passed Elliott Sadler in the season opener at Daytona.

Side note: Waltrip won on the 10-year anniversary of his first Daytona 500 win and the day Dale Earnhardt was killed. Waltrip was driving the No. 15 in honor of that win.

2 -- Drivers who scored their first career win in 2011: Michael Waltrip (Daytona) and Denny Hamlin (Martinsville).

Side note: Waltrip was one of three drivers to win in their only start of the season: Kasey Kahne (Darlington) and Mike Wallace (Talladega).

3 -- Consecutive victories, accomplished by two drivers: Kyle Busch (Nashville, Dover and Charlotte) and Kevin Harvick (Pocono, Michigan and Bristol).

Side note: Ron Hornaday was the only other driver to win consecutive races (Kentucky and Las Vegas).

4 -- Drivers who finished in the top 10 in points who are 21 years or younger: 1. Austin Dillon (21 years old); 3. James Buescher (21); 7. Joey Coulter (21); 9. Cole Whitt (20).

Side note: Five drivers who finished in the top 10 in points failed to win a race in 2011: 3. Buescher; 6. Todd Bodine; 7. Coulter; 9. Whitt; 10. Nelson Piquet Jr. Only Bodine has won a series race in his career.

5 -- Best place of finish for rookie of the year Joey Coulter, which he accomplished five times (in order of season): Kansas, Texas, Iowa, Martinsville and Homestead. Coulter won ROY by five points. (Rookie Standings)

Side note: A rookie did not win a race in 2011; the best finish was second (four times): Parker Kligerman (Texas and Kentucky), Nelson Piquet Jr. (Nashville) and Cole Whitt (Dover). At least three ROY contenders finished in the top 10 in 10 races in 2011.

6 -- Green-white-checkered finishes in 2011, including two that ended under caution. In the first two G-W-C finishes of the season, the leader at the scheduled distance did not win: Elliott Sadler led at Daytona; Michael Waltrip won. Johnny Sauter led at Texas; Ron Hornaday won.

Side note: Three of Kevin Harvick's four wins were in G-W-C finishes.

6 -- Drivers who helped Kevin Harvick Inc.'s No. 2 truck win the owners' championship: Kevin Harvick (10 races), Elliott Sadler (5), Clint Bowyer (4), Ron Hornaday (3), David Mayhew (2) and Cale Gale (1).

Side note: The No. 2 truck led the series with 19 top-fives and 23 top-10s and finished second in wins with seven; Kyle Busch Motorsports' No. 18 had eight wins. (Owner Standings)

6 -- Drivers who led the point standings in 2011: Johnny Sauter (after 10 races), Austin Dillon (8), Matt Crafton (3), James Buescher (2), Clay Rogers (1) and Cole Whitt (1). The most consecutive races leading the points was seven (Austin Dillon to finish the season).

Side note: The smallest points lead of the season was one point (three times). It was less than five points after 14 races and less than 10 points 16 times. The largest points lead of the season was 23 points (Sauter over Whitt following the first race at Kentucky).

6 -- Place of finish in points for Todd Bodine, who went winless for the first time in the past eight years. Bodine set full-season lows in top-fives (5), top-10s (11), laps (3,583), laps led (40), average finish (12.3) and points.

Side note: Bodine switched trucks following the 10th race after sponsorship ran out on the truck he drove to the 2010 championship.

2011 Leaders

Top-5sRon Hornaday13
Top-10sJames Buscher19
PolesAustin Dillon5
Laps LedKyle Busch703
Avg. StartAustin Dillon4.8
Avg. FinishAustin Dillon9.3*

10 -- Drivers who scored their first top-10 finish in 2011: Clay Rogers (3), Jennifer Jo Cobb (6) and Jeffrey Earnhardt (7) at Daytona; Cole Whitt (6), Justin Johnson (8) and Joe Coulter (9) at Phoenix; David Mayhew (3) at Texas; Ross Chastain (10) at Lucas Oil Raceway; Blake Feese (4) at Atlanta; Dakoda Armstrong (9) at Kentucky.

Side note: Johnson and Chastain were making their first career start. In all, 27 drivers made their series debut in 2011.

12 -- Drivers who won a race in 2011. Multiple winners: Kyle Busch (6), Kevin Harvick (4), Ron Hornaday (4), Austin Dillon (2) and Johnny Sauter (2). One-time winners: Clint Bowyer, Matt Crafton, Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne, Timothy Peters, Mike Wallace and Michael Waltrip.

Side note: Only six teams were represented in Victory Lane: Kevin Harvick Inc. (10), Kyle Busch Motorsports (8), Richard Childress Racing (2), ThorSport Racing (2), Red Horse Racing (1) and Vision Aviation Racing (1).

12 -- Races that had a margin of victory of less than 1 second. Eighteen races had a MOV of less than 2 seconds.

Side note: The largest MOV was 4.95 seconds when Austin Dillon won at Chicagoland.

15 -- Pole winners in 2011, tied for most in a season in series history (four other times). Five drivers scored their first career pole: Steve Arpin, James Buescher, Ricky Carmichael, David Mayhew and Cole Whitt. Buescher scored three poles, second-most to Austin Dillon's five.

Side note: Six races were won from the pole position (in order of season): Martinsville (Johnny Sauter); Nashville (Kyle Busch); Nashville (Dillon); Pocono (Kevin Harvick); New Hampshire (Busch); Las Vegas (Ron Hornaday).

15 -- Wins for Chevrolet in 2011. The make won its first manufacturers' championship since 2005. (Manufacturer Standings)

Side note: Toyota, which had won the previous five manufacturers' title, won the other 10 races in 2011.

29 -- Points third-place James Buescher finished behind champion Austin Dillon. Buescher failed to qualify for the second race of the season, at Phoenix.

Side note: Buescher led all drivers with 19 top-10s and only twice finished outside the top 20 and only one worse than 29th.


• Kyle Busch becomes the fastest to reach 25 in any series with his victory at Phoenix. Busch later eclipsed the 100-win mark in NASCAR with a Nationwide victory.
• SPEED broadcasts its 200th race, at Nashville in April.
• Clint Bowyer wins at Kansas in June, marking the 400th race in series history.
• Ron Hornaday scores his 50th series victory, at Kentucky in October.
• Ron Hornaday and Dennis Setzer each make their 300th series start, in the season finale at Homestead.

Powered by Racing Recall

Check out the 2011 Truck Series season with this look of the Year in Pictures: