News & Media

Today in History: June 20

June 20, 2012, NASCAR Wire Service,

1976: David Pearson outruns Cale Yarborough for win No. 94 in NASCAR's top series, prevailing by three car-lengths in the Cam 2 Motor Oil 400 at Michigan International Speedway. Pearson led 24 of the 200 laps in the No. 21 Wood Brothers Mercury. Yarborough led 129 laps, and his runner-up finish helped him grab the points lead from Benny Parsons, who wound up 19th; Yarborough went on to win the first of three consecutive Cup titles. Bobby Allison finished third, followed by pole-sitter Richard Petty and Buddy Baker.