News & Media

By the Numbers: Trucks join Cup at Pocono; NNS back at Iowa

August 03, 2012, ,

For Starters

50 -- The Pocono Mountains 150 consists of 50 laps around the 2.5-mile Pocono Raceway. The fewest laps in a Truck Series race is 40, at Sonoma in 1995; 50 scheduled laps is the second-fewest.

209 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr. led 209 of the 250 laps to win his third consecutive Nationwide Series race at Iowa Speedway. He tied Kyle Busch for the most laps led in a race (2010). Stenhouse did not lead the most laps in his other two victories.

10 -- The driver starting from the pole at Pocono has finished first (five times) or second in 10 of the past 13 Sprint Cup Series races and another -- Jimmie Johnson in Aug. 2008 -- finished third.

* News and Notes: Truck Series | Nationwide Series | Cup Series


Breakout Number

2 -- The former Kevin Harvick Inc. won the first two Truck races at Pocono, with Elliott Sadler and Kevin Harvick each driving the No. 2. That truck, now under the Richard Childress Racing banner, is entered this week with Tim George Jr. He has made six series starts -- four this year -- with a best finish of 15th his last time out, at Iowa. He will be making his first NASCAR start at Pocono but finished first and second in two ARCA races there last year.


Track Tidbits

2 -- Both Pocono races have ended in a green-white-checkered finish. The 2010 inaugural race went five laps past the scheduled distance. Elliott Sadler took the lead on Lap 50 and held it through two G-W-C attempts for the victory. In 2011, Kevin Harvick maintained his lead three laps past the scheduled finish.

2 -- Both Pocono races have been won from the pole position: Elliott Sadler in 2010 and Kevin Harvick last year. Only seven drivers who started outside the top 10 finished inside the top 10, with Matt Crafton having the worst start (18th) and finish (third) in the same race (2010). Crafton and Timothy Peters are the only drivers to start outside the top 10 and finish inside the top 10 in both races.

3 -- Only three drivers entered in this week's race having led at Pocono. Parker Kligerman led nine laps in last year's race, the only leader besides Kevin Harvick. Denny Hamlin led five laps and Todd Bodine led two in the first race in 2010.

Recent Trends

2 -- James Buescher's worst two finishes this season have come after wins: Charlotte (22nd) following Kansas; and Iowa (30th) following Kentucky. Buescher is the most recent series winner, at Chicagoland. He has finished 11th and third in the two races at Pocono.

5 -- Matt Crafton has a series-best four top-fives and five top-10s in the past five races. He has one top-five (third) and one top-10 (eighth) in the two Pocono races. The only other driver to do that is Austin Dillon, who finished seventh and fifth in his two starts. Timothy Peters is the only other driver with top-10s in both races, having finished eighth and 10th.

12 -- Two-time Truck Series champion Todd Bodine is 12th in points. He has finished 12th in both his Pocono races.


Breakout Number

6 -- Six drivers in Nationwide history have won at least four consecutive races at a track. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has won the past three races at Iowa. He could make Roush Fenway Racing the first team in series history with more than one driver winning four in a row at a track: Mark Martin won four consecutive at Rockingham in 1996-97. The last time a driver won four in a row on a short track was in 1985-86, when Jack Ingram won five consecutive at South Boston.


Track Tidbits

3 -- Points leader Elliott Sadler has finished in the top five in all three of his races at Iowa. He has started on the pole in the past two, finishing third and second.

4 -- Michael McDowell has four top-10s at Iowa, most of any active driver (Carl Edwards had four top-10s in as many starts). McDowell posted a pair of top-10s in the two races last year in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 and finished third in the first race there this year.

5 -- Justin Allgaier is the only driver to start in the top 10 in all five races at Iowa. He has finished in the top 10 in three of the past four races there.

* Iowa: Stenhouse makes it three in a row | Results

Recent Trends

6 -- The May race at Iowa set or tied six records: fewest cautions (four); tied for fewest caution laps (27); fewest drivers finishing on the lead lap (13); fewest drivers running at the finish (26); most laps led (209); and fastest race speed (107.157 mph).

17 -- Seventeen races this season have been won from a top-10 starting position, including four from the pole; the lowest starting position of a winner is 15th by James Buescher at Daytona and Elliott Sadler at Chicagoland. The past four races at Iowa have been won from a top-10 starting spot, three from the first two rows. The worst starting position of an Iowa winner is 11th by Brad Keselowski in the 2009 inagural; the best is second by Kyle Busch in 2010.

28 -- Twenty-eight points separate the top four drivers in points, the smallest separation between the top four since entering the fourth race of the season when it was 19 points. Only 13 points separate the top three in points, the closest since entering the second race when the separation was three points. Of the top four, only fourth-place Sam Hornish Jr. failed to post a top-five finish in May at Iowa; he blew a tire on the last lap while running eighth and finished 12th.


Breakout Number

22 -- There were 22 speeding penalties at Pocono in the June race, the most in documented infraction history (since the summer of 2006). Twenty of the 22 speeding penalties were for exiting the pits and most, if not all, were in the final segment that is just 83 feet long. The pit-road timing system was reconfigured during the track repave, and the timing loops were moved since the 2011 races.


Track Tidbits

4 -- Jimmie Johnson has finished fourth in the past three races at Pocono and finished in the top 10 in the past five, the longest current streak. His average finish of 8.8 is best among all drivers with more than one start.

5 -- JGR drivers have led the most laps in five of the past six races at Pocono, most recently by Joey Logano this past June (49). Denny Hamlin led the other four for JGR. He has led the most laps in seven of his 13 races and is second among active drivers in laps led with 660 (Jeff Gordon has led 957 in 39 starts).

7 -- Mark Martin finished second at Pocono in June, setting a Cup record for most runner-up finishes (seven) at a track without a win. He was passed by Joey Logano with a bump-and-run with four laps to go.

* Pocono: Logano speeds to glory | Results

Recent Trends

6 -- There have been six track records set in qualifying in 2012: Phoenix, Las Vegas, Pocono, Michigan, Sonoma and Kentucky. Joey Logano broke the previous record at Pocono in June by more than 7 mph (more than 2 seconds). The top 36 drivers in time trials broke the previous track record.

13 -- Ford is winless in the past 13 races, its longest winless streak since a 23-race drought between Nov. 2009 and July 2010. Greg Biffle ended that winless streak at Pocono after finishing third at Indianapolis. Biffle, who earlier this year ended his own 49-race winless streak at Texas, finished third last week at Indy.

104 -- Joey Logano's victory at Pocono in June ended a 104-race winless string, the second-longest streak broken this season. Dale Earnhardt Jr. ended a 143-race drought at Michigan.

©Racing Resources and Services -- Statistics ©Racing Recall®