News & Media

No. 30, No. 38 swap crews and crew chiefs

August 21, 2012, Team Release,

MOORESVILLE, N.C. -- Owens to lead Sweet, Kahne while Hillman will partner with Buescher, others

Turner Motorsports announced Tuesday changes within two of its Nationwide Series teams. Effective immediately, the No. 30 and No. 38 teams will interchange their entire crews, including crew chiefs, in an effort to evaluate performance and prepare for the 2013 season.

Trent Owens, who has led James Buescher and Nelson Piquet Jr. to Nationwide victories this season, will take over as crew chief for the No. 38 team with drivers Kasey Kahne and Brad Sweet. A former driver himself, Owens is a long-time fixture in the NASCAR garage. Through the years, the Darlington, S.C., native has been successful working with a variety of drivers with different levels of experience and has visited Victory Lane with both rookies and veterans alike including Buescher, Piquet. Jr., Mark Martin, Dave Blaney and Reed Sorenson.

Mike Hillman Jr., who joined the organization this season to lead Miguel Paludo's efforts in the Camping World Truck Series this season, will take charge as crew chief of the No. 30 team, which features a myriad of drivers. Hillman Jr. has served as a Trueck Series crew chief since 2005, amassing two championships, 19 wins, 81 top-five and 107 top-10 finishes in 185 races atop the pit box. Hillman Jr.'s most recent Nationwide event as crew chief came with Paludo at Road America in June of this year.

The changes are part of an ongoing process by Turner Motorsports, which is credited with five Truck and six Nationwide victories since September 2010, to gauge performance and ensure that the right people are in the right place to achieve race wins and championships.

"We have a responsibility to all of our marketing partners to consistently be doing everything we can do to make our programs stronger," said team owner Steve Turner. "This personnel change is an effective way to evaluate each team's strengths and to build upon them as we prepare to contend for a Nationwide Series championship in 2013."