News & Media

Gordon to remain crew chief of 22 car for Logano

October 31, 2012, Joe Menzer,

It wasn't really breaking news, considering Todd Gordon already was employed as the crew chief of the No. 22 car fielded by Penske Racing, but driver Joey Logano put it out there anyway on Twitter.

"I'm excited to announce that Todd Gordon will be the crew chief of the Shell/Pennzoil 22 car next year," Logano wrote on his Twitter account Wednesday.

Todd Gordon (Getty)

Considering Logano is going to be the new driver of the No. 22 car next season -- and considering that all the Penske cars will be switching from Dodge to Ford next season -- perhaps there had been some doubt about Gordon's return. But not much. Gordon actually has earned high praise for helping keep the No. 22 running reasonably well the second half of this season despite difficult circumstances that developed when the driver who began the season behind the wheel in the car, AJ Allmendinger, tested positive for a substance banned by NASCAR in July.

Allmendinger was placed on an indefinite suspension by NASCAR and was subsequently released by Penske Racing when a second test of a urine sample taken during a race weekend at Kentucky confirmed the positive outcome of the first one. Sam Hornish Jr. has been driving the car in the Sprint Cup Series since the July 7 race at Daytona.

The No. 22 Dodge currently ranks 20th in the Cup owners' point standings. In the first 17 races of the season, Allmendinger's top finish was a second at Martinsville. He also posted two ninth-place finishes. In the last 16 races, Hornish's best finish was a fifth at Watkins Glen.

Logano currently drives the No. 20 for Joe Gibbs Racing in the Cup Series, but already had announced that he will be switching to drive the No. 22 Ford for Penske Racing beginning next season. Logano currently is 17th in the drivers' point standings.

Gordon was first named crew chief of the No. 22 car in December 2011. He previously served as Brad Keselowski's crew chief in the Nationwide Series, where together they won six poles and six races during the 2011 season.