News & Media

Speedway's executive recognized by NMPA

January 20, 2013, NMPA Official Release,

Scott Cooper earns prestigious Ken Patterson Helping Others Award 

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Scott Cooper, vice president of communications for Charlotte Motor Speedway, is this year’s recipient of the Ken Patterson Helping Others Award.

The award, determined by a vote of the National Motorsports Press Association membership, was announced during the organization’s convention and awards ceremony Jan. 20.

The award, presented annually since 2004, is named for former Talladega Superspeedway media relations representative Ken Patterson. It honors a public relations representative in the motorsports industry (track, team or sanctioning body) who has exhibited the exceptional qualities often demonstrated by Patterson.

Talladega Superspeedway will donate $1,000 to the Kenneth Patterson Educational TrustFund in Cooper’s name.

“Scott has always gone above and beyond the call of duty to help ensure that the various needs of the members of the media are met,” NMPA President Kenny Bruce said. “His professionalism and kindness are great assets to Charlotte Motor Speedway.”

Previous winners:
2012 – Scott Cooper, Charlotte Motor Speedway
2011 – Kerry Tharp, NASCAR
2010 – Denny Darnell, Darnell Communications
2009 – Judy Dominick, GM Racing
2008 – Tom Roberts, TRPR
2007 – Ray Cooper, Dodge
2006 – Jimmy White, Camp & Assoc., Inc.
2005 – Dan Zacharias, Ford Racing
2004 – Kristi King, Talladega Superspeedway