News & Media

Acceleration Weekend continues with Preview '13

February 05, 2013, Staff report,

Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony acknowledges five stars of the sport

The 2013 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees were enshrined into the Hall of Fame on Friday, an event that signaled the beginning of NASCAR Acceleration Weekend 2013. As part of the weekend, the NASCAR Preview 2013 Presented by Sprint -- scheduled for Saturday -- gives fans an all-day experience that includes driver Q&As, autograph sessions, display booths from tracks, other industry-related sponsors and more.

Friday, Feb. 8, 2013

Hall of Famer Autograph Session: Junior Johnson, David Pearson, Bud Moore, Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, Dale Inman, Darrell Waltrip and Glen Wood
Time: 4 p.m.
Location: Hall of Honor
Induction Ceremony: 7:30 p.m. ET (live on SPEED)

Saturday, Feb. 9, 2013
NASCAR Preview 2013 Presented by Sprint
Location: NASCAR Hall of Fame and the Charlotte Convention Center
Event Schedule
Doors open: 7 a.m.
Preview begins: 9 a.m.
Autographs begin: 9:30 a.m.
Preview ends: 5 p.m.

Junior Johnson Midnight Moon Moonshine and Sign:
Location: NASCAR Hall of Fame
Time: 4-8 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 10, 2013
Granite Marker Unveiling: 9 a.m.
Class of 2013 Autograph Session: 10 a.m.
Location: NASCAR Hall of Fame

Buck Baker: Baker had 46 wins in a career that spanned 26 years. He was the first NASCAR driver to claim back-to-back championships (1956 and 1957) and had 45 poles, 246 top fives and 372 top 10s. | Hall of Fame induction video

Cotton Owens: While Owens had only nine wins as a driver, he was known for being a team owner for a group that included David Pearson and Junior Johnson. Owens died just days after he was announced as a member of the 2013 class. | Hall of Fame induction video

Herb Thomas: Thomas’ stats are impressive. In just 10 years (228 starts), he earned 48 wins, 122 top fives, 156 top 10s and 39 poles. But more importantly, Thomas was the champion in 1951 and 1953 and runner-up in 1952, 1954 and 1956. | Hall of Fame induction video

Rusty Wallace: While Wallace is most known for driving the No. 2 for Penske Racing, his 1989 championship came with Blue Max Racing. He had 55 wins over his 25-year career and continues in the sport as a car owner and broadcaster. | Hall of Fame induction video

Leonard Wood: Leonard is second member of the Wood family to make the Hall of Fame -- his brother Glen was inducted in 2012. With 96 wins as a crew chief, Leonard is known as the innovator of the modern pit stop. Wood can still be seen at the No. 21 Wood Brothers pit box during a race. | Hall of Fame induction video