News & Media

Spotter's guide: The Sprint Unlimited 

February 12, 2013, Staff report,

Keep track of all the special paint schemes for The Sprint Unlimited

Daytona Speedweeks kicks off with The Sprint Unlimited, formerly known as the Budweiser Shootout. As in past years, teams run special paint schemes for this non-points event. The first event of the year, race entry is limited to those who won poles in 2012 and previous winners of the race.

Jimmie Johnson's No. 48 Lowe's Yellow Chevrolet, in particular, has some interesting background.

RELATED: Die-cast version of Johnson's car (1:64 scale) | Die-cast version (1:24 scale)

The “Daytona Yellow” paint formulation was used by Chevrolet on its Camaro and Corvette models in 1969 and 1970.  

Variations of this yellow automotive paint color are also known as Bright Yellow, Goldenrod Yellow, Yellow and Colonial Yellow.

The paint code of Daytona Yellow was used on several General Motors Corp. and Chrysler models (including the Firebird, Pontiac, Camaro, Corvette, Chrysler Special Order/Fleet, Oldsmobile, Chevrolet, Nova, Buick and GMC.), but the sales name of the color changed based on which car it was used on.

The only instances in which it was called "Daytona Yellow" by the factory was on the ’69 and ’70 Camaros and Corvettes.

Below are paint schemes for 11 additional cars in the 19-car race.

Kasey Kahne will drive the No. 5 Farmers Insurance Chevrolet.

Marcos Ambrose will drive the No. 9 Stanley Ford.

Denny Hamlin will drive the No. 11 FedEx Express Toyota.

Tony Stewart will drive the No. 14 Mobil 1/Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet.

Greg Biffle will drive the No. 16 3M Ford.

Kyle Busch will drive the No. 18 M&M's Toyota.

Matt Kenseth will drive the No. 20 Dollar General Toyota.

Joey Logano will drive the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil Ford.

Jeff Gordon will drive the No. 24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet.

Kevin Harvick will drive the No. 29 Budweiser Chevrolet.

Terry Labonte will drive the No. 32 C & J Energy Services Ford.

Juan Pablo Montoya will drive the No. 42 Target.

Aric Almirola will drive the No. 43 Smithfield Ford.

Mark Martin will drive the No. 55 Aaron's Toyota.

Martin Truex Jr. will drive the No. 56 NAPA Toyota.

Kurt Busch will drive the No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Chevrolet.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will drive the No. 88 National Guard Chevrolet.

Carl Edwards will drive the No. 99 Fastenal Ford.