News & Media

By the Numbers: Subway Fresh Fit 500

February 27, 2013, Staff report,

Take a look back at the race and track history with some noteworthy numbers

.13  The closest margin of victory recorded at Phoenix International Raceway since the advent of electronic scoring. Ryan Newman beat Jeff Gordon to the start/finish line in April 2010 at the Subway Fresh Fit 600, breaking his 77-race winless streak.

1 The number of repaves at the track. It was done during a six-month period in 2011.

3 Consecutive poles won by Ryan Newman, from 2002-2004. His four poles are the most in track history.

4 Wins at Phoenix by Jimmie Johnson, the most among the top 12 in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series points standings.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

5 Drivers have won the first two races in a Sprint Cup Series season, although only three include the Daytona 500 -- Lee Petty (Daytona Beach Course, Tri-City Speedway; 1954), Marvin Panch (Willow Springs Speedway, Concord Speedway; 1956), David Pearson (Riverside, Daytona; 1976), Jeff Gordon (Daytona, Rockingham; 1997) and Matt Kenseth (Daytona, Auto Club; 2009). Jimmie Johnson won this year’s Daytona 500.

7 drivers have won more than once at Phoenix -- Jimmie Johnson (four), Kevin Harvick and Davey Allison (three), Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon and Mark Martin (two apiece).

10 extra feet in the frontstretch -- from 52 to 62 -- following a 2011 reconfiguration.

16 The number of times Jeff Gordon raced at Phoenix before his first win in April of 2007.

17 The finish of Danica Patrick in last year's fall race. Patrick is the only female to have made a Cup start at the track.

19 The number of different pole winners, with
Kyle Busch (November 2012) being the most recent.

21 Top-10 finishes for Mark Martin, more than any other driver.

29 The starting position of race-winner Ricky Rudd in 1995, the furthest back an eventual winner has started.

33 The number of Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix, one per season from 1984-2004 and two each season since.

53 The age of the oldest pole winner -- Mark Martin, at last year’s Subway Fresh Fit 500.

150.0 A perfect driver rating has been recorded twice at Phoenix -- Kurt Busch in April 2005 and Kevin Harvick in November 2006.

184 drivers have competed in at least one Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix.


READ: Subway Fresh Fit
500 entry list

READ: Phoenix by
the numbers

WATCH: Phoenix fantasy

READ: Phoenix paint
scheme preview


We apologize. We are having technical issues with our comment sections and fan community and it is temporarily unavailable. We are actively working on these issues and hope to have it up and running soon. We are also working on enhancements to provide a better forum for our fans. We appreciate your patience and apologize for the inconvenience.