News & Media

By the Numbers: Texas

April 10, 2013, Staff report,

Take a look back at the race and track history with some noteworthy numbers

0.028    seconds, the margin of victory when Elliott Sadler beat Kasey Kahne to the checkered flag (April 4, 2004), the closest since the advent of electronic scoring.

1    Cup driver has won with two different manufacturers (Jeff Burton -- 1997 with Ford, 2007 with Chevrolet).

1.5    miles, the track length.

3    is the starting position to produce the most wins (four).

4    drivers have made all 24 starts in the history of the race (Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte, Burton and Mark Martin).

5   degrees of banking on the frontstretch and backstretch.

8.842    best average starting position, Jimmie Johnson (only active driver with an average starting position in the top 10).

9    drivers from Texas have won at least one race in NASCAR's three national series (Terry Labonte, Bobby Labonte, A.J. Foyt, Billy Wade, Bobby Hillin Jr., Johnny Rutherford, James Buescher, David Starr and Colin Braun).

9.4    is the best average running position (Matt Kenseth).

16    is the number of races Jeff Gordon participated in before winning (Spring 2009), the longest span of any of the 14 active Cup winners.

17    drivers have poles at Texas (Dale Earnhardt Jr., Gordon, Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman and Martin Truex Jr. all have two).

20    races have been run without Kevin Harvick posting a DNF.

23    is the age of the youngest pole winner (Brian Vickers at 23 years, 0 months, 12 days on Nov. 5, 2006).

24    degrees of banking in the turns.

25    is the age of the youngest winner (Newman, at 25 years, 3 months, 22 days on March 30, 2003).

31    is the deepest in the field that a race-winner has started (Kenseth in 2002).


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

33    Cup races have been held in Texas (Texas Motor Speedway; Meyer Speedway; Texas World Speedway).

44    is the age of the oldest winner (Dale Jarrett at 44 years, 4 months, 6 days on April 1, 2001).

46    is the age of the oldest pole winner (Bill Elliott at 46 years, 6 months, 0 days on April 8, 2002).

79    drivers have called Texas home.

99    is the only car number to produce three or more wins (Burton -- 1997; Carl Edwards -- 2005 sweep, 2008 sweep).

106.6    Matt Kenseth's driver rating at Texas, a series best.

129    drivers have competed in at least one Cup race.

196.235    miles per hour is the track qualifying record set by Vickers on Nov. 3, 2006 (27.518 seconds).

334    laps (500 miles) is the length of the race.

455    is the number of fastest laps run by Greg Biffle, a series high.

677    is the highest number of quality passes, held by Earnhardt Jr.

772    laps have been led by Kenseth, the most by any driver (21 starts).

1,330    feet is the length of the backstretch.

1995    construction began on Texas Motor Speedway.

1997    the year the first races were held (April 5 -- Nationwide, winner: Martin; April 6 -- Cup, winner: Burton).

2011    was the first night race when the Sunday race was moved to Saturday night.

2,250    feet is the length of the frontstretch.


Comments are currently unavailable. We’re working on the development of a NASCAR fan forum – please stay tuned.