News & Media

Bowman wins Nationwide pole at Texas

April 12, 2013, Staff report,

Veteran Cup drivers take places toward top of the leaderboard

Read more: Qualifying results

Alex Bowman kept Kyle Busch from winning his third Nationwide pole of the season at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday. The rookie's fastest lap of 29.441 seconds won him the front starting spot for the O'Reilly Auto Parts 300. Despite battling an illness in the morning, Bowman was able to clock a top speed of 183.418 mph.

Busch's single lap of 29.478 seconds put him atop the leaderboard until Bowman took to the track. Busch, who finished just outside the top-10 fastest drivers earlier in practice, will start in second, putting two Toyotas in the front row.


View all articles
 • View all videos
 • View all photos

Austin Dillon, Sam Hornish Jr., Brad Keselowski, Regan Smith, Kevin Harvick, Parker Kligerman, Matt Kenseth and Elliott Sadler rounded out the top 10, with most drivers noting a tight car.

Smith, fastest in the morning practice, couldn't repeat the speed that gave him the final qualifying spot. He ran a best lap of 29.122 seconds this morning, but clocked a qualifying time of 29.556.

Rookie Kyle Larson will start 12th, just behind Dale Earnhardt Jr., after finishing .2 seconds behind the top speed.

Michael McDowell clocked at the bottom of the leaderboard, running 2.166 seconds behind Bowman. Scott Riggs, Joey Gase, Chase Miller, Jason White and McDowell did not qualify for the race.

The O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 will air today, April 12, at 8:30 p.m. ET, on ESPN2.


Comments are currently unavailable. We’re working on the development of a NASCAR fan forum – please stay tuned.