News & Media

By the Numbers: Kansas

April 17, 2013, Staff report,

Jimmie Johnson holds several records at Kansas Speedway

2  NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Kansas Speedway won from the pole: Joe Nemechek (2004) and Jimmie Johnson (2008).
4  wins Roush Fenway Racing and Hendrick Motorsports have at the speedway, tied for the most, followed by Joe Gibbs Racing and Penske Racing with two each.

7  Chevrolet leads the series in wins at Kansas with seven victories; followed by Ford with four wins.

8  Number of Sprint Cup races at Kansas Speedway have been won from a top-10 starting position.

9  Drivers that have made all 14 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series starts at Kansas Speedway: Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte, Jeff Burton, Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch, Mark Martin, Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman and Tony Stewart.

10  Drivers have Coors Light poles at Kansas, led by Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne with three each.

10.615  The best average starting position among active drivers at Kansas Speedway, held by Jimmie Johnson

11 The most top-10 finishes at Kansas Speedway, a record held by Jimmie Johnson, followed by Jeff Gordon with 10.

13  Number of races Matt Kenseth ran at Kansas Speedway before winning last fall; the longest span of any of the 10 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winners at Kansas.

14  Kevin Harvick, Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch and Bobby Labonte lead the series with the most NASCAR Sprint Cup starts at Kansas Speedway without visiting Victory Lane at 14.

25  The starting position of Brad Keselowski in 2001, the deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Kansas Speedway, in the spring of 2011.

108  Drivers who have competed in at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas; 79 in more than one.

176.499 mph  the speed at which Jason Leffler won the inaugural Coors Light Pole Award at Kansas Speedway in 2001.

272  The number of laps in the only NSCS race resulting with a green-white-checkered finish at Kansas Speedway: fall of 2011 (267 scheduled laps).

547  Number of laps led at Kansas by Jimmie Johnson, who leads the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in laps led at Kansas Speedway with 547 laps led in 13 starts.


Comments are currently unavailable. We’re working on the development of a NASCAR fan forum – please stay tuned.