News & Media

By the Numbers: Talladega

April 30, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for Talladega weekend

Related: Aaron's 499 entry list | Complete Talladega coverage

Track: Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Ala., 2.66 miles, paved surface, 33-degree banking in Turns 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Time/TV: Aaron's 499 (188 laps, 500 miles), 1 p.m. ET, Sunday, May 5. TV: FOX (coverage starts at noon ET), Radio: MRN, Sirius XM Ch. 90.

Trailblazers: The first Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega was held on Sept. 14, 1969 and won by Richard Brickhouse. NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt leads the series with 23 top-five finishes at Talladega.

.002  seconds is the closest margin of victory at Talladega since the advent of electronic scoring in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Jimmie Johnson’s win on April 17, 2011 is tied with the 2003 Darlington race as the closest finishes in the NSCS using electronic scoring.

2 of the 87 races at Talladega Superspeedway have been shortened due to weather conditions: spring of 1987 and fall of 1996. Qualifying has been cancelled due to weather conditions in the NASCAR Sprint Cup at Talladega Superspeedway three times; most recently spring of 2010.

3  drivers have posted their first Sprint Cup wins at Talladega: 2012 series champion Brad Keselowski (4/26/2009), Brian Vickers (10/8/2006) and Ken Schrader (7/31/1988).

4 races have had female drivers competing at Talladega in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series: Janet Guthrie made three Talladega starts, and Patty Moise made one.

drivers made 10 or more attempts before their first win at Talladega: Matt Kenseth (25), Terry Labonte (21), Tony Stewart (19), Kevin Harvick (18) and Mark Martin (18).

is the most runner-up finishes a driver has tallied at Talladega, a tie between Buddy Baker and Tony Stewart.


View all articles
 • View all videos
 • View all photos

6  NSCS races have resulted in a green-white-checkered finish at Talladega Superspeedway: spring of 2005 (188/194), fall of 2005 (188/190), spring of 2007 (188/192), fall of 2008 (188/190) spring of 2010 (188/200) and fall of 2012 (188/189).

different manufacturers have won in the NSCS at Talladega; led by Chevrolet with 38 victories; followed by Ford with 19.

9  drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series have posted consecutive wins at Talladega Dale Earnhardt Jr. leads the series in consecutive wins at Talladega after posting four consecutive wins from the fall of 2001 – 2003.

10  drivers have won consecutive Coors Light poles at Talladega. Bill Elliott holds the record for most consecutive poles at Talladega with six (1985-1987).

10.182  -- the average starting position of Jimmie Johnson -- is the best among active Sprint Cup drivers at Talladega. The best average finishing position belongs to Brad Keselowski, who leads all active drivers with a 12.250.

12  Talladega wins have been claimed by Richard Childress Racing, the most by any team at Talladega in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, followed by Hendrick Motorsports with 11.

13  of the 87 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Talladega have been won from the Coors Light pole. Only two active drivers have been able to accomplish the feat: Bobby Labonte (1998) and Jeff Gordon (2007). 

15 of the 16 active NASCAR Sprint Cup winners at Talladega Superspeedway participated in at least one or more races before visiting Victory Lane. Brad Keselowski is the only active series driver to win at Talladega in his first appearance.

22 is the age of the youngest Talladega winner: Bobby Hillin Jr. , who was 22 years, 1 month, 22 days in 1986. The oldest winner to date is Harry Gant, who was 51 years, 3 months, 26 days when he won in 1991.

23  top-five finishes at Talladega have been earned by Dale Earnhardt, the record among all drivers. Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with 15.

25  races went by at Talladega for Matt Kenseth before winning last fall; the longest span of any the 16 active NASCAR Sprint Cup winners.

26  is the age of the youngest Talladega pole winner: Jimmie Johnson, who won the pole at 26 years,seven months and four days in 2002. The oldest Talladega pole winner is Mark Martin, who won in October 2012 at 52 years, 9 months, 14 days.

36  drivers have Coors Light poles at Talladega, led by Bill Elliott with eight. Joe Nemechek leads all active drivers with four.

36 is the farthest in the field any race winner has started, a feat by Jeff Gordon in the spring of 2000.

47  different drivers have won at Talladega Superspeedway, led by Dale Earnhardt with 10. Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with six.

61 starts at Talladega is the current series record, held by Dave Marcis. Terry Labonte leads all active drivers with 57 starts; followed by Michael Waltrip with 53.

87  NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races have been held at Talladega Superspeedway, one NSCS event in 1969 and two races per year since 1970.

199.466 mph won the first Coors Light pole at Talladega for Bobby Isaac in 1969. Isaac won the first three poles at the 2.66-mile superspeedway.

429 drivers have competed in at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega; 294 in more than one.

839  laps have been led by Jeff Gordon in 40 starts at Talladega, the most of all active drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. 



READ: Latest news
from Richmond

READ: Harvick wins
overtime thriller

READ: No win, but no
disappointment for Montoya

READ: Electronic
fuel injection

Comments are currently unavailable. We’re working on the development of a NASCAR fan forum – please stay tuned.