News & Media

Sauter wins Truck pole in Texas

June 06, 2013, Staff report,

Sauter wins first pole of season with only lap time under 30 seconds.

Related: Qualifying results, lineup | Hackenbracht's first big break

Johnny Sauter will take the top starting spot Friday night's WinStar World Casino 400, earning the fifth Keystone Light Pole Award of his career and first of 2013. The No. 98 Toyota was the only truck to break 30 seconds, with Sauter's fast lap of 29.963 seconds sending him to the top.

Despite a car he was unsure of, Ty Dillon nabbed the second spot on the qualifying charts, finishing just behind Sauter with a lap of 30.036 seconds.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

"I'm excited to see what we can do tomorrow night, and it's time for our good luck to start happening," Dillon said. "I think tomorrow night's the night we start winning races."

The third spot went to rookie Jeb Burton, who was the fastest driver in the combined practice. 

Potentially starting behind Dillon is teammate Brendan Gaughan, who took the fourth spot. Miguel Paludo nabbed the last spot in the top-five.

After Gaughan, Ron Hornaday Jr. has the most trips to Victory Lane at Texas Motor Speedway, and will start the race 10th. Last week's pole winner, Darrell Wallace Jr., will start 16th. Current points leader and Sauter's ThorSport Racing teammate Matt Crafton qualified eighth.

The WinStar World Casino 400 take place at 9 p.m. ET on Friday and will air on SPEED.



READ: All news
from Pocono, Iowa, Texas

READ: Viewers Guide
for Pocono, Iowa, Texas

READ: Paint Preview

WATCH: Preview Show: