News & Media

Ford earns 1,000th NASCAR national series win

June 16, 2013, Staff report,

Reaches milestone on 110th anniversary of Ford Motor Company's incorporation

Ford earned its 1,000th NASCAR national series win on Sunday at Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, Mich. 

Greg Biffle
did the honors as the Blue Oval celebrated about an hour drive west of its Dearborn headquarters with his fourth career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at the track. The win moved him from the Chase bubble in 10th to eighth.

“Ford has been an important part of our sport since their first win,” said NASCAR President Mike Helton. “We congratulate the entire Ford Motor Company and the race teams, past and present, that have contributed in this very significant milestone of their 1,000th win.”


-- 615 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series wins by Ford
-- 96 Sprint Cup wins by Mercury
-- 4 Sprint Cup wins by Lincoln
-- 200 NASCAR Nationwide Series wins by Ford
-- 85 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series wins by Ford


-- 89: Mark Martin (35 NSCS/47 NNS/7 NCWTS)
-- 73: David Pearson (73 NSCS)
-- 64: Carl Edwards (20 NSCS/38 NNS/6 NCWTS)
-- 53: Greg Biffle (19 NSCS/18 NNS/16 NCWTS)
-- 43: Ned Jarrett (43 NSCS)

On Friday, Biffle was asked about getting the 1,000th win for the manufacturer and talked put it in the perspective of his season as he attempts to earn Ford’s first Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup since the inaugural Chase in 2004.

“There are a lot of things on the line for us as far as that win,” Biffle said. “One, it would be our first of the season; two, it would propel us towards the Chase; and three, the 1,000th win for Ford Racing in NASCAR.”

The weekend started for Ford drivers on Thursday in Dearborn, where Carl Edwards said he became one of “only eight or nine people” to drive “Sweepstakes,” a car designed by Henry Ford, who drove it to his company first victory on Oct. 10, 1901 at the Detroit Driving Club in Grosse Pointe, Mich. It was the first and only race Ford ran and set him on the road to establishing Ford Motor Company 110 years ago to the day on Sunday.

After winning the Coors Light Pole Award with an average lap of 202.452 mph, Edwards talked about driving Ford Racing’s first winning car.

“We got it up to maybe 20 or 25 miles per hour driving on the road there, and they said it would go 73 miles per hour in 1901,” said Edwards, who finished eighth on Sunday. “It was scarier driving that thing 25 miles per hour than it was driving the corner here at 205. Those guys were brave.

“The neatest thing about that which I didn’t know until I talked with Edsel Ford and the guys there is that if it weren’t for winning that race, Ford Motor Company as we know it might not exist,” Edwards said. “For him to risk everything and build this race car and go out and race it and win and be able to put together investors for Ford Motor Company was huge.”

The No. 16 team’s win extended owner Jack Roush’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series record of 13 victories at his home track and was a record 45th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory for Ford and Mercury at MIS.

“Here we are in the summer of 2013 celebrating Henry Ford’s 150th birthday and in the same year we’re celebrating our 1,000th win in NASCAR,” said Jamie Allison, director, Ford Racing.  “We all know how Ford Motor Company started, and I think reaching this milestone really honors the spirit of what Henry Ford started.”

Understanding the importance of the track’s proximity to the auto manufacturing hub of Detroit, MIS President Roger Curtis announced Friday that a manufacturer’s trophy will be awarded after each NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race, beginning with the Pure Michigan 400 on August 18, for the car company that goes to Victory Lane.

Allison acknowledged that winning at MIS held special meaning for Ford.

“We want to show up and compete and win in front of our friends, our neighbors, our employees, the entire network of people who support our company, whether it's executives, fans, you name it,” Allison said. “It's an extra level of pride that comes with being here in your hometown.”

Ford's winning ways began at the beginning of NASCAR as Jim Roper in a Lincoln won the first Strictly Stock, now Sprint Cup Series, race in the sport's history on June 19, 1949 at the old Charlotte Speedway.

Sixty-four years later, Ford supports 11 full-time drivers in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competition, five in the Nationwide Series and two in the Camping World Truck Series. Ford competes in all three national series with support of Front Row Motorsports, Germain Racing, Penske Racing, Richard Petty Motorsports, Roush Fenway Racing and the Wood Brothers. This season, Ford added full-time support of Brad Keselowski Racing in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. 

Trevor Bayne, who claimed the manufacturer’s 200th NASCAR Nationwide Series victory last Sunday at Iowa and its 600th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win in the 2011 Daytona 500, finished 15th in the No. 21 car for Wood Brothers.

Bayne noted on Friday that the Blue Oval supported his No. 6 Nationwide car under the hood as well as being a sponsor.

“Ford is such a huge backbone of our team,” Bayne said. “Not only do they give us manufacturer support, but they were actually on our race car last weekend at Iowa with the Ford EcoBoost Mustang, so we could not do it without them.”