News & Media

By the Numbers: Sonoma

June 19, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Toyota/Save Mart 350

Related: Full coverage, entry lists for Sonoma

Track: Sonoma Raceway in Sonoma, Calif., 1.99 miles, road course, asphalt surface, 12 turns.

Time/TV: Toyota/Save Mart 350, 3 p.m. ET, Sunday, June 23. TV: TNT (coverage starts at 2 p.m. ET), Radio: PRN

Trailblazers: The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Sonoma was held June 11, 1989 -- won by Ricky Rudd at a speed of 76.088 mph. Jeff Gordon leads the series with 12 top-five finishes at the track. Gordon also leads the series in top-10 finishes at Sonoma with 16.

0.197 seconds is the closest margin of victory in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Sonoma Raceway since the advent of electronic scoring. That came in the June 27, 1999, race when Jeff Gordon beat Mark Martin.

1.99 miles is the distance of the course. It was reconfigured to 2 miles in 2001, then remeasured in 2002.

2.52 miles was the distance of the road course when it opened in 1968.

3 is the number of consecutive Coors Light Pole awards for Ricky Rudd (from 1990-92), a series record.

5 of the 24 (20.8%) NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Sonoma have been won from the Coors Light Pole; the most recent was Jeff Gordon in 2004. Gordon is the only NSCS driver to win from the pole at Sonoma more than once.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

6 different manufacturers have won in the NSCS at Sonoma, led by Chevrolet with 10 victories, followed by Ford with six.

8.550 is Jeff Gordon’s average finishing position at Sonoma, the best among all active drivers. Clint Bowyer (9.714) is the only other active driver with an average finish in the top 10.

12 is the number of turns throughout the course.

15 drivers have Coors Light Poles at Sonoma, led by Jeff Gordon with five.

16 different drivers have won at Sonoma Raceway, led by Jeff Gordon with five wins. Tony Stewart has the second most wins (two) among active drivers at Sonoma.

18 of the 24 (75.0%) NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Sonoma have been won from a top-10 starting position.

21 is the numbers of starts at Sonoma for Mark Martin and Terry Labonte, the most in the Sprint Cup Series.

23 years, 1 month, 20 days is the age Kyle Busch was when he won at Sonoma in 2008. He’s the youngest winner at the track in Sprint Cup Series history.

24  NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races have been held at Sonoma Raceway, with one per season since 1989.

32nd  is the deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Sonoma. Juan Pablo Montoya won his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race from this starting position in 2007.

43  years, 10 months, 11 days was the age of Rusty Wallace when he became the oldest Coors Light Pole winner for a race at Sonoma in 2000.

95.262 mph is the record speed for the Coors Light Pole, set last year by Marcos Ambrose.

107.8 is the driver rating for Kurt Busch since 2005 at the track, the best among active drivers.

184 drivers have competed in at least one Sprint Cup race at the track.

300 kilometers was the distance for the first nine Cup races. It switched to a 350k format in 1998.

427 drivers in NASCAR national series history have their home state recorded as California. Among the notable drivers returning to their home state for this race are Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon and Kevin Harvick.

450  laps led by Jeff Gordon at Sonoma leads all active drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.