News & Media

By the Numbers: Daytona

July 03, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Coke Zero 400 Powered By Coca-Cola

RELATED: Full coverage from Daytona

Track: Daytona International Speedway, 2.5 miles, asphalt surface, 31-degree banking in turns 1-4, 18-degree banking in tri-oval, 3-degree banking on frontstretch short chutes and on backstretch.

Time/TV: Coke Zero 400 Powered By Coca-Cola, 7:30 p.m. ET, Saturday, July 6. TV: TNT (coverage starts at 6:30 p.m. ET). Radio: MRN.

Trailblazers: NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2014 inductee Fireball Roberts won the first July 4th weekend race at Daytona, prevailing from the pole position in the Firecracker 250. He became the Florida track’s first two-time winner the next February, leading all 40 laps of a Daytona 500 qualifying race. ... Jeff Gordon is the winningest active driver in NASCAR’s top series with six Daytona victories, four wins off the all-time record held by King Richard Petty.

.005 seconds was the margin of victory in Jamie McMurray’s narrow triumph over Kyle Busch in the 2007 midsummer classic. McMurray ended a 166-race losing skid by inches in notching his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win.

1 lap is all that Jimmy Spencer led in winning the annual July race in 1994, the fewest amount by a race winner in track history. Spencer, driving a Junior Johnson-owned Ford, passed then edged Ernie Irvan in a side-by-side battle to post his first win in NASCAR’s top series.

3 is the number of women entered in the 1977 running of the Firecracker 400 at Daytona. All three retired because of mechical failure, but Italian Lella Lombardi fared best with a 31st-place finish in her only start in NASCAR’s top series. Belgian driver Christine Beckers was 37th and Janet Guthrie 40th in the 41-car field.

5 is the number of wins in Daytona’s 400-miler by David Pearson, who tops the all-time list for this race. Tony Stewart can match the Silver Fox’s record with a win Saturday night.

7 different drivers have prevailed in the last seven events at Daytona International Speedway.

9.2 is the average starting spot at Daytona for Jimmie Johnson, who holds the best career average among active Sprint Cup drivers with more than one start at the 2.5-mile track. Johnson won the Coors Light Pole Award for the 2002 Daytona 500 -- his fourth career Cup start -- and repeated the feat in the 2008 running of The Great American Race.

11 yellow flags is the most ever in a 400-mile race at Daytona International Speedway. Nearly half the field absorbed some share of damage in the crash-filled Coke Zero 400 of 2008, won by Kyle Busch.

12 top-five finishes by Jeff Gordon at Daytona leads all active drivers in the Sprint Cup Series. His total is far behind Richard Petty’s 28 career top-five results at Daytona, but Petty’s career starts at the 2.5-mile track outnumber Gordon’s 74 to 41.

15 is the amount of Daytona victories by the Wood Brothers, the winningest team at the Florida superspeedway. Trevor Bayne scored the most recent triumph for the long-running NASCAR operation, winning the 2011 Daytona 500.

25 is the number of drivers who have won points-paying races at Daytona from the pole position. Kevin Harvick was the most recent driver to start first and finish first, prevailing in the 2010 Coke Zero 400 after winning the Coors Light Pole Award.

29 is the number of acres of Lake Lloyd, the man-made lake in the speedway's infield. The body of water was born when track officials opted to fill the massive hole created by moving earth to form the track’s steep banking in the turns.

31 years is the time span since a Cup series driver won both Daytona events in a single season. NASCAR Hall of Famer Bobby Allison is the most recent driver to accomplish the feat, sweeping the Daytona 500 and Firecracker 400 in 1982. Jimmie Johnson, the 2013 Daytona 500 champ, will aim to break that streak in Saturday night’s race.

41 cars were running at the finish of the 2007 edition of the 400-miler, the race with the least amount of attrition in Daytona history.

57 lead changes is the all-time record for a Coke Zero 400 at Daytona. David Ragan was the benefactor of the 57th and final lead change in the 2010 running, when he secured his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory.

97.0 is Kyle Busch’s driver rating at Daytona, best among active drivers heading into Saturday night’s 400. Busch also tops the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in average running position (12.4), laps spent in the top 15 (2,172, or 70.6%) and quality passes (2,334).

132 is the number of points-paying races that have been held at Daytona for NASCAR’s premier series.

172 is the number of points-paying races for NASCAR’s top series that have been held in the state of Florida. Homestead-Miami Speedway is next to Daytona on the Sunshine State's list with 14 events.

200 career victories is the milestone achieved by Richard Petty in winning the 1984 running of the Firecracker 400, the first NASCAR race with a sitting U.S. President in attendance. Petty edged Cale Yarborough by a bumper in the race back to the caution flag, then celebrated his final Cup series triumph with Ronald Reagan in attendance.

665 is the number of laps led by Tony Stewart at Daytona International Speedway. His series-best career total is 44 more than Jeff Gordon, next on the all-time list among active drivers.

9,941 laps completed at Daytona is the all-time record, held by Terry Labonte. That means the Texas native needs to complete just 59 of the 160 scheduled laps in Saturday’s Coke Zero 400 to reach the five-figure mark.


READ: Kenseth wins
at Kentucky

WATCH: Wreck takes out
Biffle, Keselowski

WATCH: Johnson spins
on late restart

READ: Complete
Kentucky coverage

Talk about this article or start your own topic in our Fan Forums.