News & Media

Kyle Busch wins Nationwide Coors Light Pole

July 13, 2013, Staff report,

Series' winningest driver adds Coors Light pole career record to honors


View all articles
 • View all videos
 • View all photos

Kyle Busch broke the track record and tied a series record with his 30th career Coors Light Pole in the NASCAR Nationwide Series on Saturday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Busch was the only driver to break the 29-second barrier, turning the Magic Mile in 28.873 seconds at 131.916 mph. His 30th series pole ties Mark Martin for the most poles in Nationwide history.

His Joe Gibbs Racing teammate, Brian Vickers, was second-fastest with a 29.029 second/131.207 mph circuit.

JR Motorsports teammates Kasey Kahne and Nationwide points leader Regan Smith will make up the second row for CNBC Prime’s “The Profit” 200 at 3 p.m. ET on ABC.

Nationwide Series regulars Richard Childress Racing’s Brian Scott and Turner Scott Motorsports Justin Allgaier are on the third row while Sprint Cup drivers make up the fourth row with Penske Racing’s Joey Logano in seventh and JGR’s Matt Kenseth in eighth.

The fourth JGR driver, Elliott Sadler, is ninth and the top racer eligible for the Nationwide Insurance Dash 4 Cash bonus. Kyle Busch Motorsports rounds out the top 10 with Parker Kligerman.

Carl Long and the No. 15 Rick Ware Racing team withdrew and Mike Harmon and Morgan Shepherd did not make the 40-car field. At 71, Shepherd will become the oldest driver in Sprint Cup Series history to start a race when he takes the green flag for the Camping World RV Sales 301 (1 p.m. ET, TNT).


READ: Paint Scheme
Preview: New Hampshire

READ: Driver Reports
at the halfway point

READ: Power Rankings
Week 18

READ: Complete coverage
from New Hampshire, Iowa