News & Media

Latest news, history from the Brickyard

July 23, 2013,

Follow the latest news, and key moments of the rich history of Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Sprint Cup Series

Crown Royal presents the Samuel Deeds 400 at the Brickyard powered by, 1 p.m. ET, Sunday, ESPN | Results

Featured Story

Newman wins at Indy

One day after earning the Coors Light Pole Award, Ryan Newman broke through at famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway to win the Crown Royal presented the Samuel Deeds 400. It was Newman’s first victory this year and 17th of his career. | Read the full story

More news:

-- Earnhardt Jr. sees struggles off, on track at Indy
-- No. 48 team won't dwell on missed chances
-- Kenseth massages top-five finish out of Indy
-- Standings Shuffle: Gordon enters top 10
-- Kurt Busch mulling eventual Indy 500 run
-- Danica not expecting IndyCar-like success ... yet
-- Newman wins 50th career Coors Light Pole
-- Pit stall assignments
-- Kurt Busch blazes trail in final practice
-- Montoya tops early practice
-- Would a night race make sense at Indy?
-- It's crunch time for Jeff Gordon
-- Is this the era of the underdog at Indy?
-- Danica feels at home in Indy spotlight
-- Paint Scheme Preview: Indianapolis
-- Race still historic for Childress
-- Bowyer shows winning consistency
-- Midseason MVP: Johnson or Kenseth?
-- Most memorable moments of the first half
-- Driver Reports entering the Brickyard
-- Power Rankings: Kahne, Keselowski climb

Nationwide Series

Indiana 250, 4:30 p.m. ET, Saturday, ESPN | ENTRY LIST

Featured Story

Great eight for Busch

Kyle Busch led 92 of 100 laps Saturday at Indianapolis and earned his eighth NASCAR Nationwide Series victory of the season. He survived a frenetic final restart in which he lost the lead to Brian Scott, only to regain it for the final three laps. | Read the full story

More news:

-- Engine hang-up derails Hornish's day
-- Kyle Busch wins pole in record speed
-- Larson, Vickers fast in practice
-- Nationwide qualifying order
-- Hornish relishes points lead
-- With lead in hand, Hornish returns to Indy


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

A look back at the highlights from each year


In the track's inaugural NASCAR event, a 23-year-old Jeff Gordon etched his name into the racing history books by winning the first-ever Brickyard 400. | Watch the video


In the rain-delayed 1995 race, the historical significance of NASCAR racing at Indy wasn't lost on race-winner Dale Earnhardt. "A great race track, tradition up here…I guarantee you NASCAR is happy to be here," said the seven-time champion from Victory Lane. | Watch the video


Defending race-winner Dale Earnhardt was relieved by Mike Skinner on Lap 7 due to injuries he sustained at Talladega, but nobody was stopping Dale Jarrett that day. After his victory, Jarrett and his crew sparked the tradition of the winning driver kissing the row of bricks at the start-finish line. | Watch the video


After several leading drivers were forced to pit under green, Ricky Rudd took advantage to lead the final 46 laps without stopping to take the checkered flag for his first win at Indianapolis in NASCAR's premier series. | Watch the video


Dale Jarrett led the second 100 miles and was bound to become the first repeat-winner in the history of the race, but ran out of fuel near the midway point and instead Jeff Gordon earned his second Brickyard victory. | Watch the video


Dale Jarrett earned his redemption following his heartbreaking loss from the year before, beating out a determined Bobby Labonte and Jeff Burton to become the second two-time winner. | Watch the video


Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace dominated the race, leading 114 laps, but it was Bobby Labonte who stole the win in a race slowed by just two cautions for seven laps. This was Wallace's second runner-up showing at a track where he excelled, finishing in the top 10 in eight of his first nine races there. | Watch the video


Jeff Gordon became a three-time winner at the Brickyard 400 after taking the lead from Sterling Martin. Just as the three others before him, Gordon went on to become the series champion following his win at the Brickyard. | Watch the video


Rusty Wallace came up just short yet again, finishing second for the third time at Indy and giving way to winner Bill Elliott. The Kurt Busch and Jimmy Spencer feud came to a head, resulting in a wreck between the two that but Busch into the wall. | Watch the video


Kevin Harvick became the first driver to win the Brickyard 400 from the Coors Light Pole position, holding off Matt Kenseth for the final 16 laps of the race. It was Harvick's third attempt to win the Cup race at Indianapolis. | Watch the video


Jeff Gordon overcame a series of late-race catastrophes that saw Mark Martin, Dale Earnhardt Jr., and Casey Mears taken down with tire issues to become the first four-time winner at Indy in the first green-white-checker finish in Sprint Cup Series history that caused a race to be extended. | Watch the video


Tony Stewart finally broke through at Indianpolis, as the hometown favorite won the Brickyard 400 in his seventh start, climbing the catch-fence to celebrate as fans chanted his name. 'Smoke' would win the championship later in the season. | Watch the video


Jimmie Johnson  recovered from a blown left front tire early in the race to win his first Brickyard 400, becoming just the second to win that race and the Daytona 500 in the same year. | Watch the video


Rookie Juan Pablo Montoya finished second to Tony Stewart, becoming the first driver to race in all three of the major Indy events (Indy 500, Brickyard 400, and the U.S.G.P.). | Watch the video



How about two? Jimmie Johnson held off Carl Edwards to win his second career race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. There would be more to come later, too for the driver who wasn't quite yet nicknamed Five-Time. | Watch the video


Former Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya looked primed to take his first Brickyard 400, leading 116 laps, but a late pit penalty proved costly and allowed Jimmie Johnson to earn his third victory and second in a row. | Watch the video


Juan Pablo Montoya again was in great position at a track he excels at, leading 86 laps, but a decision to take four tires in a late pit stop and a crash with 16 laps to go knocked him out. Jamie McMurray took advantage for the victory, becoming the third driver to win the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 in the same season. | Watch the video


It must be a great feeling to get the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win under one's belt. But it must be even more special for that first win to come at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Watch as Paul Menard does just that for Richard Childress Racing. | Watch the video


After a restart 20 laps to go, Jimmie Johnson held off Kyle Busch and Greg Biffle tie his buddy Jeff Gordon for four Brickyard 400 victories.  | Watch the video


READ: Complete coverage
from Eldora

READ: Complete coverage
from Indianapolis

READ: Memorable moments
of the first half

READ: Paint Scheme Preview:
Indianapolis, Eldora