News & Media

By the Numbers: Indianapolis

July 24, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Crown Royal presents the Samuel Deeds 400 at the Brickyard powered by

Related: Full coverage from Indianapolis

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Ind., is 2.5 miles of paved surface, with nine degrees banking in all four turns and no banking on the straightaways. The track opened in 1909.

Time/TV: The Crown Royal presents the Samuel Deeds 400 at The Brickyard powered by is set for 1 p.m. ET, Sunday, July 28. TV: ESPN (coverage starts at noon ET), Radio: IMS, Sirius XM Ch. 90.

Trailblazers: NASCAR held its first race at the famed Brickyard on Aug. 6, 1994 with Jeff Gordon, who lists Pittsboro, Ind., as his home, winning the inaugural competition.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

0.183 seconds is the closest margin of victory in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and that came on Aug. 3, 1997 when Ricky Rudd edged Bobby Labonte.

2 Only two of the 19 races have been won from the Coors Light pole. Kevin Harvick did it in 2003 and Jimmie Johnson in 2008.

3 The third starting position has been the most proficient starting position in the field, producing three winners from that spot in the 19 races.

4 Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson are tied for the most victories in this race with four apiece. Johnson's wins came in 11 appearances at Indy, while Gordon has appeared in all 19 races.

8.214 That's Indiana native Tony Stewart's average finishing position in 19 Cup starts at Indy. And that's also good enough to lead all Cup drivers in this category. 

11 Eleven of the 19 Indy races have been won from a top-10 starting position. The deepest in the field a race winner has started was 27th when Jeff Gordon won in 2001.

19 Mark Martin and Jeff Burton have each raced in the Cup event at Indy 19 times without getting a victory. They are tied among active drivers for that dubious honor.

23 Jeff Gordon was the youngest winner of this race at 23 years, zero months and two days old when he won on Aug. 6, 1994.

50 Bill Elliott was the oldest winner at Indianapolis at 50 years, 8 months and 11 days when he took the checkered flag on Aug. 4, 2002.

106.3 Jimmie Johnson has the highest driver rating at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, followed by Tony Stewart at 102.8, Mark Martin at 102.5, Jeff Gordon at 101.8 and Greg Biffle at 98.6.

128 That's how many drivers have competed in at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. There are 102 drivers who have competed in more than one race at the track.

400 The length in miles for this race, which will take 160 laps to complete.



READ: First-half
season awards

READ: Memorable moments
of the first half

READ: Eldora qualifying
procedures explained

READ: Complete coverage
from Chicagoland