News & Media

Schrader sets new record in Eldora qualifying

July 24, 2013, Staff report,

Veteran driver becomes oldest pole winner in a NASCAR national series | QUALIFYING RESULTS

Related: Qualifying times | Day 2 photos | Complete Eldora coverage

Ken Schrader was fastest in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series qualifying for the CarCash Mudsummer Classic presented by CNBC Prime’s The Profit, notching a best speed of 91.329 mph in 19.709 seconds around the half-mile oval at Eldora Speedway on Wednesday to claim the Keystone Light Pole Award.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

Schrader, 58 years and nearly 2 months old, breaks Dick Trickle's record for oldest pole-winner in a NASCAR national series. Trickle was 57 years, 7 months when he earned the Nationwide Series pole at Dover in June 1999.

Schrader followed up that effort by winning the first qualifying heat race, not only locking himself into the field, but earning the P1 position.

Jared Landers followed Schrader in qualifying with a time of 19.804, while Timothy Peters (19.869), Kenny Wallace (19.939) and series rookie Jeb Burton (19.955) rounded out the top five.

Series points leader Matt Crafton was 12th with a time of 20.337, while NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Ryan Newman was 15th at 20.423. Reigning Truck Series champion James Buescher was 19th at 20.521.

Dirt track veteran Scott Bloomquist didn’t fare so well in qualifying, bumping the wall during his run and placing 31st.

There were still five qualifying heat races, then a last-chance race before Wednesday night's main event. Results from those respective races will set the field.


READ: First-half
season awards

READ: Memorable moments
of the first half

READ: Eldora qualifying
procedures explained

READ: Complete coverage
from Chicagoland