News & Media

By the Numbers: Watkins Glen

August 06, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Cheez-It 355 at the Glen

Track: Watkins Glen International, 2.45 miles, asphalt surface, 7-turn road course.

Time/TV: Cheez-It 355 at the Glen, 1 p.m. ET, Sunday, Aug. 11. TV: ESPN (coverage starts at noon ET). Radio: MRN; SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, Channel 90.

Trailblazers: NASCAR Hall of Famer Buck Baker prevailed in the first NASCAR event at Watkins Glen, beating Fireball Roberts and Tiny Lund on Aug. 4, 1957. Billy Wade (1964) and Marvin Panch (1965) were the only other winners on the old 2.3-mile layout before NASCAR became an annual stop on the schedule in 1986. ... Tony Stewart, injured in a sprint car crash earlier in the week, is the all-time winningest driver at Watkins Glen with five Sprint Cup victories.

.172 seconds is the closest margin of victory at Watkins Glen since the advent of electronic scoring. Jeff Gordon edged Jeff Burton by the scant interval in 2001.

1 is the number of women who have competed at Watkins Glen International in Sprint Cup competition. Patty Moise finished 33rd in 1987 and 30th in 1988 in her only WGI starts in NASCAR’s top division.

2.0 is the average finish at Watkins Glen for road-racing expert Marcos Ambrose, who has finished no worse than third in five career starts on the New York circuit. His Sprint Cup ledger at the Glen: two victories (2011, 2012), one runner-up finish (2009) and a pair of third-place efforts (2008, 2010).

6 is the number of victories at the Glen by Hendrick Motorsports, making it the winningest team at the 2.45-mile road course. Jeff Gordon has scored four career victories for HMS; Tim Richmond and Ricky Rudd each have one Glen win for Hendrick.

10 is the highest number of caution periods in a race for NASCAR’s top series at Watkins Glen. Kevin Harvick survived the wreck-filled event in 2006 for the only road-course win of his Sprint Cup career.

16 is the number of Watkins Glen wins by Chevrolet, most among the six manufacturers who have driven to Victory Lane at the New York track. Ford (seven wins), Pontiac (4), Toyota (1), Buick (1) and Mercury (1) have also prevailed at the Glen.

18 is the number of drivers who have won events in NASCAR’s premier series at Watkins Glen. Of those, only six (Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin, Rusty Wallace, Marcos Ambrose and Ricky Rudd) have multiple victories.

24 is the difference, in years, between the oldest Watkins Glen winner and the youngest. Geoffrey Bodine was 47 years, 3 months and 24 days old when he scored his final win in NASCAR’s top series on Aug. 11, 1996; Kyle Busch was 23 years, 3 months and 8 days old when he prevailed at Watkins Glen on Aug. 10, 2008.

68 is the number of races for NASCAR’s premier series that have been held in the state of New York. Fifteen tracks in the Empire State have hosted Cup series events, but only Watkins Glen (30), the Monroe County Fairgrounds in Rochester (8) and Islip Speedway (6) have hosted more than five. The Rochester layout was a half-mile dirt track; The Islip circuit was a .2-mile paved oval, the shortest in the history of NASCAR’s top division.

87.071 is the speed in miles per hour of Buck Baker in winning the pole position for the first-ever professional event at Watkins Glen. He proceeded to lead all 44 laps in a 1957 Chevrolet.

101.2 miles is the distance of the first race for NASCAR’s premier series at Watkins Glen.

120.4 is the Watkins Glen driver rating for Tony Stewart, best in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Stewart, who will be unable to race Sunday as he recovers from a severely broken leg earlier in the week, also leads the series in average running position (5.7), fastest laps run (106) and quality passes (195).

124.95 miles is the distance of the only weather-shortened NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race in Watkins Glen history. Kyle Petty notched the only road-course victory of his career when rain halted the 1992 event with just 51 of a scheduled 90 laps complete.

245 is the number of drivers who have competed in at least one race in NASCAR’s top series at Watkins Glen. Of that number, 151 drivers have more than one Watkins Glen start.

1,941 is the career number of laps turned in competition at Watkins Glen by Mark Martin, most of any NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver all-time. Martin, replaced in the No. 55 Michael Waltrip Racing Toyota this weekend by Brian Vickers, is tied with Michael Waltrip and Terry Labonte for most Watkins Glen races with 22.


WATCH: Final Laps:
Kahne edges Gordon

WATCH: Victory Lane:
Kahne celebrates

WATCH: Johnson hits
wall at Pocono

WATCH: Danica involved in
four-car wreck