News & Media

Atlanta Sprint Cup pit stall assignments

August 31, 2013,

Coors Light Pole Award winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr. gets first pit pick

Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender and two-time NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. claimed his first career Coors Light Pole Award in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series on Friday night.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

The pole win gives him first selection of stalls on pit road, and his No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing team chose the No. 1 stall, first off of pit road toward Turn 1. Stenhouse’s teammate, Carl Edwards, qualified second and chose the 23rd pit stall at the start/finish line on the Turn 4 side. The No. 48 team and Jimmie Johnson are on the other side of the line in the 22nd pit stall.

The third-fastest lap was put down by Earnhardt Ganassi Racing driver Juan Pablo Montoya. His No. 42 team picked the 20th stall with an opening behind him.

Rounding out the top five, Denny Hamlin’s No. 11 car, which won this race last season, was fourth-fastest in Coors Light Pole Qualifying. His Joe Gibbs Racing team chose the 21st stall across the opening from Montoya. Five-time Atlanta winner and four-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, Jeff Gordon, was fifth-fastest and chose the 34th stall with an opening in front of him.

Watch the races on and off of pit road on Sunday night at 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN during the Advocare 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway as only two races remain in the Race to the Chase to decide which 12 drivers make the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup after next Saturday night’s race at Richmond International Raceway.


WATCH: Hot Lap:
Atlanta Motor Speedway

WATCH: Fantasy Showdown: Atlanta

READ: Latest news from Atlanta, Canada

READ: Weekend schedule: Atlanta, Canada races