News & Media

By the Numbers: Richmond

September 04, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Federated Auto Parts 400

Track:  Richmond International Raceway, in Richmond, Va., is 0.75 miles, paved surface, 14 degree banking in all turns. Banking in the frontstretch is 8 degrees and backstretch is 2 degrees. The frontstretch is 1,290 feet and the backstretch is 860 feet.

Time/TV:  Federated Auto Parts 400, 7:30 p.m. ET, Saturday, Sept. 7. TV: ABC (coverage starts  at 7 p.m. ET), Radio: MRN

Trailblazers:  The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Richmond was won by Lee Petty on April 19, 1953.

0.51 seconds is the closest margin of victory at Richmond since the advent of electronic scoring, won by Jeff Burton in September 1998.

2 drivers have posted their first Coors Light Pole Awards at Richmond: Bobby Labonte (September 1993) and Brian Vickers (May 2004). Tony Stewart (September 1999) and Kasey Kahne (May 2005) posted their first NASCAR Sprint Cup wins at Richmond.

3 active drivers have a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series average finish in the top 10 at Richmond: Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Clint Bowyer.

4 of the 114 races at Richmond International Raceway have been shortened due to weather conditions: spring of 1962, spring of 1977, spring of 1982 and spring of 2003.

6.5 is the average finish position of Kyle Busch, who leads all active drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Richmond International Raceway.

7drivers have won consecutive Coors Light poles at Richmond. Bobby Allison holds the record for most consecutive poles at Richmond with five (1972-1974).

7.8 is the best average starting position among active Sprint Cup Series drivers at Richmond International Raceway, a number earned by Jeff Gordon.

8 drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series have posted consecutive wins at Richmond International Raceway. Richard Petty leads the series in consecutive wins at Richmond after posting seven consecutive wins from the fall of 1970-1973. Terry Labonte (1994-1995) and Jimmie Johnson (2007 sweep) are the only two active drivers with consecutive wins at Richmond.

9 is the record for runner-up finishes, a tie between Bobby Allison and Richard Petty. Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with six.

11 of the 114 Sprint Cup races at Richmond International Raceway have been won from a starting position outside the top 20.

15 Cup Series wins at Richmond have been claimed by Petty Enterprises, the most wins at the track, followed by Hendrick Motorsports with 10 and Joe Gibbs Racing with nine.

20 years, 6 months, 21 days is the age of the youngest Richmond pole winner: Brian Vickers on May 15, 2004. The oldest Richmond pole winner is Mark Martin, who won in April 2012 at 53 years, 3 months, 19 days.

22 of the 114 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Richmond International Raceway have been won from the Coors Light pole position. Only three active drivers have accomplished the feat: Kasey Kahne (2005), Jimmie Johnson (2007) and Kyle Busch (2010).

31 is the deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Richmond International Raceway, by Clint Bowyer in the spring of 2008.

32 races after his Cup Series debut at Richmond, Terry Labonte made his first trip to Victory Lane there in 1994, the longest span of any of the 16 active NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winners. Bobby Labonte leads the series among active drivers with the most NASCAR Sprint Cup starts at Richmond without visiting Victory Lane at 41.

36 wins have come from Chevrolet, while Ford has 28.

44 is the record for top-10 finishes, held by Richard Petty. Mark Martin leads all active drivers with 30; followed by Terry Labonte with 28.

51different drivers have won at Richmond International Raceway, led by Richard Petty with 13. Kyle Busch leads all active drivers with four.

63 starts at Richmond is currently the series record, held by NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty. Terry Labonte leads all active drivers with 55 starts; followed by Mark Martin with 54.

90 of the 114 Cup races at Richmond International Raceway have been won from a top-10 starting position.

114  Sprint Cup races have been held at Richmond International Raceway, one NSCS event from 1953-1958 and two races per year since 1959.
drivers have competed in at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Richmond; 304 in more than one.

1,415 laps led in 40 starts gives Jeff Gordon the record at Richmond among all active drivers.

1953 was the year of the inaugural Coors Light Pole at Richmond, taken by Buck Baker with a speed of 48.465 mph.


WATCH: Final Laps:
AdvoCare 500

WATCH: Victory Lane: Kyle Busch

WATCH: Kahne collected in restart

READ: Bowyer's trouble at Atlanta