News & Media

By the Numbers: New Hampshire

September 18, 2013, Staff report,

Vital stats for the Sylvania 300

Track: New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H., 1.058 miles, paved surface, 2- to 7-degree banking in all turns, 1-degree banking on the frontstretch and backstretch.

Time/TV: Sylvania 300, 2 p.m. ET, Sunday, Sept. 22. TV: ESPN (coverage starts at 1 p.m. ET). Radio: PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90.

Trailblazers: Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race at New Hampshire on July 11, 1993.

0.068 is the closest margin of victory (since the advent of electronic scoring) in a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at New Hampshire. This occurred when Denny Hamlin beat Jeff Gordon in the July 1, 2007 race.

1 female driver has competed at New Hamphire: Danica Patrick. Patrick finished 37th in this year's July race at the track.

2 times drivers have completed a sweep of the New Hampshire Sprint Cup races. Jimmie Johnson did so in 2003 and Kurt Busch did the same in 2004. 

2 is also the number of times that the eventual Sprint Cup champion has won the Chase race at new Hampshire Motor Speedway. Kurt Busch (2004) and Tony Stewart (2011) both went on to win the Chase in those years.

2 is also the number of times that Clint Bowyer has won a Chase race at New Hampshire; he did this in 2007 and 2010.

2 is also the number of times that Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire have resulted in a green-white-checkered finish. This happened in 2006 and 2008.

3 drivers have made their first career Sprint Cup start at New Hampshire: Jeff Burton, Joe Nemechek and Joey Logano.

4 drivers have competed in all the Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire; they are Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek.

4 is also the number of times Jeff Burton has won at New Hampshire, which is the most among all drivers. Burton is the only driver to win at New Hampshire three straight years ('97 to '99).

5 is the number of times that Tony Stewart and Jeff Gordon have finished as runner-ups at New Hampshire. That is tied for the series lead. Gordon also have the most top-five finishes (16) and most top-10 finishes (22) at New Hampshire.

6 times Ryan Newman has won the Coors Light pole at New Hampshire.

6 Chase contenders have won at New Hampshire in the past: Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon and Ryan Newman.

8.8 is the average finishing position at New Hampshire for Denny Hamlin, the best among active drivers.

10 (counting Sunday's race) is the number of times a Chase race has been run at New Hampshire. NHMS has been one of the 10 tracks for the Chase for the Sprint Cup since the playoff's inception in 2004. From 2004 to 2010, it was the first race of the Chase, but since 2011, NHMS has been the second race of the Chase.

15 of the 30 Sprint Cup races scored by electronic scoring have had a margin of victory of less than a second.

19  is the age of the youngest winner at New Hampshire, Joey Logano. Logano was 19 years, 1 month, and 4 days old when he won at Loudon on June 28, 2009. It was also Logano's first Sprint Cup win.

21was the age of the youngest Coors Light pole winner at New Hampshire, Brian Vickers, who was 21 years, 8 months and 23 days old when he took the pole on July 17, 2005.

22 different drivers have won at New Hampshire.

37 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races have been held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 to 1996 and two races per season since. These are the only Sprint Cup races to be run at NHMS.

39 is the worst finish by an eventual Chase champion at New Hampshire. Jimmie Johnson finished 39th in 2006, but still went on to win the Chase.

46 was the age of Bill Elliott, when he became the oldest Coors Light pole at New Hampshire. Elliott was 46 years, 9 months and 13 days old when he took the pole on July 21, 2002.

50 was the age of Mark Martin, when he became the oldest winner at New Hampshire. Martin was 50 years, 8 months and 11 days old when he won on September 20, 2009.

126.871was the speed at which Mark Martin won the inaugural Coors Light pole at New Hampshire in 1993.

148 drivers have competed in at least one Sprint Cup race at new Hampshire.

1,316 is the number of laps Jeff Gordon has led at New Hampshire, the most among active drivers.


READ: Kenseth wins at rainy Chicagoland

READ: Engine failure halts Logano's fast Chase start

WATCH: Post-Race Reactions GEICO 400

WATCH: Final Laps: Kenseth takes Chicagoland