News & Media

By the numbers: Kansas

October 02, 2013,

Vital stats for the Hollywood Casino 400

MORE: Full Chase coverage

Track: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan., 1.5 miles, asphalt surface, 17- to 20-degree variable banking in turns, 10-degree banking on frontstretch, 5-degree banking on backstretch.

Time/TV: Hollywood Casino 400, 2 p.m. ET, Sunday, Oct. 6. TV: ESPN (coverage starts at 1 p.m. ET). Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90.

Trailblazers: Jeff Gordon prevailed in the first-ever event for NASCAR’s top series at Kansas Speedway in 2001. He repeated the feat the following year. ... The speedway was repaved and reconfigured with progressive banking in the turns in between the track's two annual races in 2012. Matt Kenseth has won both races since the new asphalt was laid down, joining Gordon as the only winner of back-to-back Sprint Cup events at Kansas.

.081 seconds is the closest margin of victory in Kansas Speedway history, achieved when Joe Nemechek edged Ricky Rudd in October 2004 to notch his only win in the Sunflower State.

1 is the number of races for NASCAR's premier division at Kansas Speedway that have gone into overtime. Jimmie Johnson's victory in this race in 2011 was extended five laps past its scheduled 267-lap distance by a green-white-checkered finish. 1 is also the number of abbreviated races at Kansas. Greg Biffle scored his first Kansas win after two rain delays forced NASCAR officials to halt the race because of darkness 57 laps shy of the scheduled length in September 2007.

2 Kansas-born drivers have prevailed in NASCAR's top series, both at opposite ends of the sport's history. Active driver Clint Bowyer, who hails from Emporia, is an eight-time Sprint Cup Series winner. Jim Roper of Halstead has the distinction of winning the series' first-ever race on June 19, 1949, when the division was known as Strictly Stock.

4 is the number of Kansas Speedway wins each by Hendrick Motorsports and Roush Fenway Racing, making them the winningest teams at the 1.5-mile facility. Joe Gibbs Racing is next on the list with three Kansas victories.

5 drivers share the top spot on Kansas Speedway's all-time win list with two victories apiece -- Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth and Tony Stewart.

7 is the number of Sprint Cup wins posted by Chevrolet, the winningest automaker at Kansas Speedway. Ford has four victories on the 1.5-mile track, followed by Toyota with two and Dodge with one.

9 drivers have competed in every race for NASCAR's premier series at Kansas Speedway -- Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte, Mark Martin, Ryan Newman and Tony Stewart. Those streaks will end this year for Stewart, sidelined by a season-ending leg injury, and Labonte, who was not on the race's preliminary entry list.

14 caution periods is the track record for slowdowns in a single race at Kansas, set in this event last season. Of that total, 12 yellow flags were for spins or crashes as drivers struggled to get a handle on the freshly paved speedway.

15 is the number of races that NASCAR's premier series has run in the state of Kansas. All have been held at Kansas Speedway.

15.367 is the difference in miles per hour between the fastest qualifying speeds in the race before and the race after Kansas Speedway's repaving and reconfiguration project last season. AJ Allmendinger won the Coors Light Pole Award in April 2012 at 175.993 mph, but when the series returned to find a redesigned, higher-banked track in October, Kasey Kahne blistered the qualifying leaderboard with a pole lap at 191.360 mph. Matt Kenseth inched the benchmark up to 191.864 mph this spring, marking one of the 17 times this season that a track record has been broken with the new sixth-generation (Gen-6) car for NASCAR’s top series.

21 years is the age difference between the oldest and youngest race winners at Kansas Speedway. Ryan Newman was 25 years, 9 months and 27 days old when he scored his only Kansas win in the fall of 2003. Two years later, Mark Martin prevailed at the 1.5-mile track at 46 years, 9 months and 0 days of age.

25 is the deepest starting spot for a Kansas Speedway race winner. Brad Keselowski stormed from midpack in June 2011 to register his first victory driving for Penske Racing.

40 is the number of races that Kansas Speedway has hosted for NASCAR's three national series. Besides the 15 Sprint Cup events, the 1.5-mile track has also been the site of 12 NASCAR Nationwide Series races and 13 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series events.

119.1 is the series-best driver rating of Jimmie Johnson at Kansas Speedway. Johnson also leads the series at Kansas with 12 top-10s, a career average finish of 7.6 and most laps led (556).

173 is the most laps led in a single race at Kansas Speedway without winning. Martin Truex Jr. led more than half of the 267-lap race there in April 2012, but his dominant day wound up in second place, seven tenths of a second behind race winner Denny Hamlin at the finish.

197 is the most laps led in a single race by a Kansas Speedway winner. Jimmie Johnson set the pace for all but 75 laps on the 1.5-mile track in October 2011.


WATCH: Victory Lane:
Johnson wins at Dover

WATCH: Final Laps:
Johnson breaks record

WATCH: Dale Jr.:
misses pit road

WATCH: Keselowski
brings out caution