News & Media

2014 NASCAR Nationwide schedule announced

October 18, 2013, NASCAR news release,

Return to Nationwide’s ‘Home Track’ Mid-Ohio; Chicagoland back under the lights

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. –  NASCAR today announced the 2014 schedule for the NASCAR Nationwide Series, the 33rd season of racing for the second-most popular motorsports series in the United States. Next year’s schedule once again features a variety of tracks that will challenge drivers, many of whom are quickly transforming into up-and-coming national series stars.

“As it continues to provide great racing for our fans, the NASCAR Nationwide Series is also a launching pad for our rising talent,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR’s senior vice president of racing operations. “It’s exciting to watch the growth of current and former series drivers Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. among others in their progression to challenge NASCAR Sprint Cup Series stars like Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards and Kevin Harvick. Those former NASCAR Nationwide Series champions also make up a majority of this year’s Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers.”

For the third consecutive season, the NASCAR Nationwide Series schedule will consist of 33 races on intermediate venues, road courses and short tracks. Three road course races will again be showcased, including Road America (June 21), Watkins Glen International (Aug. 9) and Mid-Ohio (Aug. 16), which is located less than 60 miles from Nationwide Insurance’s Columbus, Ohio headquarters. ESPN networks will continue to provide live broadcasts of the entire schedule in 2014.

Changes to next season’s schedule include three date shifts from the 2013 edition: Darlington Raceway will hold its race a month earlier (April 11), while the first Iowa Speedway event is now slated for May 18 (it had previously been held in June). Texas Motor Speedway’s date moved one week earlier in the calendar to April 4; the Texas and Darlington date changes coincide with the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule released earlier this week. Chicagoland Speedway’s standalone event on July 19 will return to a night race for the first time since hometown driver Justin Allgaier won there in 2011.

Daytona International Speedway hosts the season opener on Feb. 22 while the series finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway is set for Nov. 15. Six “standalone” dates are also included on the 2014 schedule. These races have been a major part of the series’ identity throughout its history, putting the spotlight squarely on series regulars vying for the championship. Iowa Speedway will host two standalones (May 18 and Aug. 2), along with Chicagoland, Kentucky Speedway (Sept. 20), Road America and Mid-Ohio.

And for the sixth straight year, NASCAR and Nationwide Insurance will partner to bring back the popular “Dash 4 Cash” bonus program for drivers and fans alike. The unique program rewards and recognizes NASCAR Nationwide Series driver championship contenders and adds elements of unpredictability and drama leading up to and during the designated “Dash 4 Cash” races. An announcement on the complete 2014 program details will be released at a later date.

Date Site
Feb. 22 Daytona International Speedway
March 1
Phoenix International Raceway
March 8
Las Vegas Motor Speedway
March 15
Bristol Motor Speedway
March 22
Auto Club Speedway
April 4
Texas Motor Speedway
April 11
Darlington Raceway
April 25
Richmond International Raceway
May 3
Talladega Superspeedway
May 18
Iowa Speedway
May 24
Charlotte Motor Speedway
May 31
Dover International Raceway
June 14
Michigan International Speedway
June 21
Road America
June 27
Kentucky Speedway
July 4
Daytona International Speedway
July 12 New Hampshire Motor Speedway
July 19
Chicagoland Speedway
July 26
Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Aug. 2
Iowa Speedway
Aug. 9
Watkins Glen International
Aug. 16
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Aug. 22
Bristol Motor Speedway
Aug. 30
Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sept. 5
Richmond International Raceway
Sept. 13
Chicagoland Speedway
Sept. 20
Kentucky Speedway
Sept. 27
Dover International Speedway
Oct. 4
Kansas Speedway
Oct. 10
Charlotte Motor Speedway
Nov. 1
Texas Motor Speedway
Nov. 8
Phoenix International Raceway
Nov. 15
Homestead-Miami Speedway


READ: Smoke itching
to return

READ: 'Dega: Wild Card
or ace up the sleeve?

WATCH: 2014 Cup Series
schedule release

READ: 'Dega dynamics
present challenges