News & Media

McDowell gets 2014 Cup ride with Leavine

October 28, 2013, Staff report,

Team moving away from using multiple drivers to fill No. 95 seat

RELATED: Full Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup coverage

Leavine Family Racing announced Monday that Michael McDowell will drive the team's No. 95 Ford Fusion in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in 2014.

McDowell, 28, has competed in the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series since 2007 and in the Sprint Cup Series since 2008. McDowell has 144 career starts in the Sprint Cup Series. His best finish was ninth at the season-opening Daytona 500 this year.

"This is an extremely good opportunity for me," said McDowell, who has worked with the Leavine Family Racing Sprint Cup team before, at this season's Sprint All-Star race at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. "Bob (Leavine) and I first started talking about the possibilities months ago. I'm happy to be a part of this organization."

"Michael drove for us at the Sprint All-Star race and he left a great impression," Leavine said. "When we started thinking about a driver for next year, he was at the top of our list.

"He has always impressed me. Michael gets the most out of his car, no matter what he's driving or who he's driving for. He takes care of his cars and gets good finishes. With his experience and ability, we feel he can excel in our equipment. As a team we are very excited, and his ability to work with everyone here at Leavine Family Racing will be important."

Vice President of Marketing and Partnerships Jeremy Lange said the goal of the organization is to run one full-time team in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in addition to competing in select Nationwide Series races in the No. 95 car. Leavine Family Racing's 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule will be released at a later date.

Founded in 2011, Leavine Family Racing has used four drivers -- Scott Speed, Reed Sorenson, Scott Riggs and Blake Koch -- in its No. 95 Sprint Cup car this season. Speed recorded the team's best finish, ninth in the spring race at Talladega.


READ: Gordon earns
first win of 2013

WATCH: Final Laps:
Gordon triumphs

WATCH: Kurt Busch
spins, collects Martin

WATCH: Harvick turns
Newman at Martinsville